In which I am rescued

Guess what happens in 10 days from today? GUESS! Oh, okay. I’ll just tell you. I celebrate my Gotcha Day Birthday!

Yep, it was almost a year ago – on March 28th – that I came to live with mom and dad. Gosh, on one paw, it seems like only yesterday. And on the other paw, it seems like I have always been a part of my family.

So I thought maybe you’d want to hear a little more how I came to be rescued in the first place. Now, before I start, I want to gets one thing straight. I’m not tellin’ you this to make you feel sorry for me or anything. I’m telling you this cuz I thought you might like to know why I considers myself to be the Luckiest Dog That Ever Ever Lived.

Okay, so it was January of 2009 in eastern Collie-rado and my Angel Donna Fostermommy got a call from a person saying that they had a puppy they wanted to surrender to her rescue. So she got in her car and drove over to this person’s house and they met her at the door and handed her the puppy.

Here’s a picture of the puppy. His name is Smudge. Isn’t he the Most Adorable??

So my Angel Donna Fostermommy told the person that she’d like to see the mama cuz sometimes adopters have questions about what the mama looked like. (But she really just said that cuz she wanted to see what kinda condition the mama was in. Isn’t she so smart?) So the person said okay and took her to the backyard.

And that’s the first time I met her. Cuz, you see, I was the mama!

Well, my Angel Donna Fostermommy was none too happy with what she saw, I can tell you that! I was a real skinny minnie cuz they weren’t all that much keen on givin’ me a whole bunch of foodables or anything. And I didn’t have any water and all I had for shelter was this kind of plywood shelf thingie turned on its side. Of course, I thought it was all perfectly normal cuz that’s the only life I had known. (I had no idea there was such a thing as a BED at that point. Can you imagine?)

I felt a little shy but I could tell that this lady was real nice and so I went up to her and wiggled and wagged and told her how very pleased I was to meet her. I heard her asking that person who lived in the house if they would surrender me to rescue, too. But they said no…that they wanted to keep me.

She had a real sad look on her face but said okay and then she left. I was sorry to see her go and that sure was a lonely night without Smudge.

But what I didn’t know was that when my Angel Donna Fostermommy got home, she couldn’t quit thinking about me. She told her husband-man that she just couldn’t leave me there like that. And he said…well, then, I guess you better go back and get her.

So the next day she got in her car and drove back out to where I was living. And she talked and talked to the person in the house and they finally said that okay, I could go with her. I didn’t know it then but that was the Most Lucky day of my whole entire life!

Well, she took me back to her house and gave me a crate with soft blankies in it. And she gave me some food and all the water I could drink. Gosh, I still remember how good that water tasted cuz I was really thirsty. And Smudge was there, too! It was all kinda scary in a way cuz I didn’t know what to expect. But I also knew that my life had just gotten a whole lot better.

After I put on some weight and was feeling more myself, Angel Donna Fostermommy took my pictures and put together a Petfinder ad for me. Here are the pictures she took. My mom said she looked at them a million times from the time we met at the Adoption Fair til they brought me home.

If you look at my Petfinder ad, you will prolly notice that my name wasn’t Mayzie then. Angel Donna Fostermommy gave me the name “Angel.” (Which is ironic cuz that’s the name I gave her, too!) Anyways, she told my mom a couple of months ago that she picked out that name for me cuz she couldn’t believe how sweet and loving I was even though I lived in that icky place. Well, I thought that was a very nice thing to say but whoa! did it ever make my mom all kinds of leaky!

So anyways, Smudge got adopted by some nice peoples and then just a few weeks later, I got adopted by my mom and dad.

Now you know why I considers myself to be the Luckiest Dog That Ever Ever Lived! And I make sure to tell my mom and dad every day how much I luvs them and how happy I am to live here and how grateful I am for every teeny tiny little moment of my life.

27 Comments

Filed under Rescue

27 responses to “In which I am rescued

  1. Oh Mayzie!!!! Mom and I are astounded at your story…..oh my word talk about having a guardian angel you must certainly did in Donna. I just cannot understand how ‘people’, and I use that term loosely and because this is a family show, can be so very very cruel….ok that is enoughhhhhh.
    Well guess what your Gotcha day is my Mom’s Mom’s (confused yet?) 82 birthday…that will be a double good day now because I can also think about you being very cozy in your furrever home with Ranger and Mom and Dad.
    Happy Thursday sweet beautiful Mayzie.
    Madi and Mom

  2. Frankie Furter

    Oh Mayzie, Sweetie I am sooo sorry about that other part of your life… BUTT look at you NOW!! I can’t wait for your Gotcha Day to see how you get to celebrate!!!

  3. Maizey, that’s the sweetest story we’ve ever heard! We’re so proud of your mom for going back and getting you. Thank Pugness they did!

    Love,
    Stella, Gunther and Betty

  4. Hi Mayzie, we are so very glad that Angel Donna could not get you out of her head!
    We are glad she went back and managed to rescue you.
    We are so happy that you now have the best forever home and that we are friends.
    love and kisses
    Martha & Bailey xxx

  5. Oh Mayzie, Momma is over here leaking all over the place because she is so happy about your angel, Donna for going back to save you! Your momma is an angel too for helping you forget about your ‘other’ life and giving you one worth living for!

    We lubbing you lots and are so glad to have met you!

    Wags and Woofs,
    Mack and Mia

  6. Hey there Mayziegal’
    After reading your story I can believe you thinking that you are the luckiest girl in the world! What a story! No wonder your mom & dad love you so much! You remind me of a rescue doggie that my mom’s friend had who also had puppies when they found her, so they used her in the shelter to feed foster pups until my mom’s friend rescued her. Your story and hers are phenomenal!
    THank you for sharing this and I wish you a long and happy life!
    Lotsalick
    MAXDOG IN SOUTH AFRICA

  7. Shady

    Happy Gotcha Day! Yoyur puppy is beeeyootttiful, you should be proud. I am sorry your life before was a little rough but you gave him a great start. Now you get to enjoy some spoilin’ too. You deserve it.

    Donna and your Mom are very special people, we need more of them in the world.

  8. miss mayzie, that was a most excellent and wonderful story! i am so glad that you don’t have to live in that icky backyard anymore and that you have your special mama and daddy (and cheese) now. you are a lucky, lucky lady indeed!! 🙂
    happy almost gotcha day!
    *woof*
    the booker man

  9. What a great story; I didn’t know you were a mom! And those petfinder pics look so different. I’m thinking you do have some boxer in you.

  10. Great story — happy impending Gotcha Day, Mayzie!

  11. Mazie what a lucky girl you are! Mom and dad used to help out other doggies by letting them live with us as a foster. Boxen has decided he does not like that though so now mom is the one who goes and meets a new family and decides whether or not they can have one of the foster dogs. It is a big responsibility but she loves it because she gets to meet all those people. Anyway we wanted to know if we could have your address so we can send you a gotcha day gift? Can you e-mail it to us pretty please?

  12. Oh Mayzie, what an incredible story…that foster mommy of yours sure did a SUPER thing! How brave of her to go back and plead for you. And how pawesome that you then got adopted by a wonderful family and can now experience all the joys a dog should. 🙂 If I was there I would give you a kiss myself and then we would roughhouse and play…hehehe!

    Kisses,
    Nala

  13. Hey Mayzie, you are so sweet, and I’m glad you finally were saved by your foster mom and then your family. So many people only want to adopt the cute little puppy like Smudge, but they are missing so much by overlooking the mommas like you. Smudge will hopefully never know how bad it could have been, but you know, and you will always appreciate your family so much more because of it. I think you’re right – you have found The Most Perfect Family That Ever Was – and they are lucky to have you too!

  14. Sweet Mayzie!!!

    Thank you for sharing your story, we are so glad that you found your family and your foster momma!!!

    xo martine & the kiddlets

  15. You are one lucky girl and we’re glad that your story has taken a turn for the better, although we hope the end is yet to be written for a long, long time!

    Bunny

  16. twinkietinydog

    As we are all very passionate about rescue in our home, we can’t help but love your parents/angels. Your momma was real smart asking that question. Imagine if she hadn’t. I loved your gotcha story!
    Twinkie

  17. You are a very lucky girl Mayzie. Happy Gotcha Day! There’s so much truth in that last caption. We’ve had a lot of rescues pass through here as well as our own dogs and rescues do their very best to make sure you understand just how much they appreciate you taking the time for them. Little do they know that they’re the ones who bless us with their presence.

  18. We love stories with happy chapters like that!

    I believe woo have a khountdown to a pawesome special day!

    Hugz&Khysses,
    Khyra & Khousin Merdie
    PeeEssWoo: We’ll be emailing woo from my mom’s yahoo address to share something…

  19. Hi, Mayzie!
    Thanks for sharing your story!
    Yes… Donna is an Angel!
    And sure you are very happy now living with your Mom and Dad!
    Kisses and hugs
    Lorenza

  20. Mango

    That was a wonderful story. I did not know that you were a mama at one time. That must have been hard work. But now you have the best estate and lots of love.

    Slobbers,
    Mango

  21. You deserve to have the best gotcha celebrations ever, Mayzie , just like the ones that Mitch is having!
    And we are so happy that you have the bestest home ever!

    Love ya lots
    Maggie and Mitch

  22. OMD, that was pawesome! We loved the book too! That was so funny that you posted about the book too! Mr. Chips is a little jealous about the autograph copy! I ordered mine thru Amazon!!!! Autographs are extra!! LOL
    Nice to meet you!
    Deborah

  23. goldenhaven

    My eyes are all leaky with happiness. Your Angel Donna Fostermommy is a professional rescue lady. She followed the rescue creed – GET THE DOG!!!
    And how great of your peeps to be lookin on petfinder for a girl like you – just ment to be.
    Love
    Ben

  24. Wonderful (yet sad) story. Now I have a lot more guesses towards your DNA, too!

  25. I finally read this– it’s so touching. I knew you had an angel fostermom Donna, but I had no idea what a brave angel she really was until I read about how she found you and rescued you, against the odds. What a special story you have.

  26. Pingback: What Remains Now » Blog Archive » 4 Faves – Mayzie Version

  27. I love that story! Thank you to your mom and your foster mom–they did such a wonderful thing!

Leave Me a Pawment!