Smudge Update

Hi everyone! Smudge here. First…big, HUGE thanks from me and all of us for your thoughts and crossed paws about the tests I had to have.

smudge paper

Just wanted to let you know that we got all the test results back and it looks like my heart is JUST FINE! Whew! Is mom ever relieved! Cuz if there was something wrong with my heart, that coulda been REALLY bad.

The vet guy is gonna talk to my nice skin doctor lady but he says that it’s prolly Ass-muh and that he’d like me to give THIS crazy-looking thing a try:

aerokat_4

It’s called an “Aerokat” and it’s made especially for us Ass-muh kittehs where they squirt some medicine called “Flovent” into it and then I breathe it out of that tube. I guess Ass-muh humans use the same kinda medicine only without the crazy contraption. Here’s a video of another kitteh using it.

Between you and me, I don’t know if I’m gonna like that but if it makes it where I can play real hard again, I guess I’ll give it a shot.

Oh, and since we learned that Ass-muh is lots of times caused by allergies, we might also get me something called allergy testing so that I can get  shots to help me build up my resistance to stuff that makes it hard for me to breathe.

Thanks again for your good thoughts and wish me (and mom) good luck. We’re gonna need it!

26 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

26 responses to “Smudge Update

  1. Smudge…I think that mask thingy makes you look studdly, (is that a word) and mysterious. Lady cats like men of mystery…just sayin’
    Hugs
    Madi your BFFF

  2. Oh Smudge, that is such good news. I hope you can stand that gizmo but it doesn’t look too bad. Tell Mom that we have a friend that has a cat with the darn Ass-muh and I think they use that contraption. He has a blog here. http://www.brianshomeblog.com/ Maybe he can help you. Hope it all goes well for you.

  3. Hi Smudge, I’m glad your heart is all good! But avoid the allergy testing at all costs! I got allergy tested when I was a puppy, and now they say I can’t have peanut butter or beef or chicken or all sorts of yummy foods! Can you believe it? Saying that I, Ziggy the Food Monster, must be not be allowed to eat certain foods? It’s ridiculous, I tell you! So avoid the allergy test if at all possible, or they may say you can’t have fish or even worse – tuna – ever again!

  4. harrispen

    I’m glad to hear it isn’t your heart and I hope they can figure out what allergies you might have so you can get some medicine for it.

    Millie

  5. susieandsidebite

    Whew glad it’s not the heart. Welcome to the world of many peeps, Ass-mu, it’s not so bad, just do your meds and breathing will be good. Yep teast for them all-er-gies is a good thingy also.

    Your Pals
    Susie & bites

  6. Frankie Furter and Ernie

    Smudge we KNEW that you had a Beautiful heart.
    now that Ass-Muh stuffs may not be so bad from what we saw in the video.
    Give it a try… looks kinda Comfy and the peep DID say Good BOY at the end.

  7. Wow, I never knew they made inhalers for kittehs! That’s so pawsome. I hope it works for you.

  8. Oh Smudge, that is FABulous news indeed!!! Yea!!! Butts, that breathin’ thingie does looks a little wierd…well, sometimes the weirdest lookin’ thingies are the bestest!! (just look at ME!!) BOL
    Yea, this is gonna be a good weekend!
    Kisses,
    Ruby

  9. littlemissjackie

    Mr. Smudge, how great that they have speshul Ass-muh meduseens for kittycats! My mom has Ass-muh too from allerjees, and she has a Flovent puffer too! We’re sure glad your heart is just fine, and we hope your new meduseens make you feel all better!

    Luvs,

    Jackie

  10. The OP Pack

    Smudge, we are very happy that your ticker is just fine. We hope that funny looking gizmo helps you and that the allergies are something easy to control.

    Woos – Phantom, Thunder, Ciara, and Lightning

  11. Smudge, I am so relieved that your heart is ok, I knew it was, cause you are so full of loveys. Good luck with that contraption. I can tell you for sure, it would not fly around here. I hope it helps you

    Loveys Sasha

  12. daisydog

    Hi Smudge, I don’t have ass-muh, but I have allergies and have been through the tests and mom gives me shots every other week. Its easy peasy. I hope you like your in-haler contraption. And we are extra happy that your heart is beating just fine!!!

  13. Pip

    OK, first I am so glad your heart is healthy …not sure my heart could have handled it if your heart was hurting. About the asthma, there are two kitties with asthma at Red Door, the shelter that rescued me and where my assistant still volunteers. These kitties are on some medicine, but also get nebulized once a week. The Nebulizer is another contraption to get the medicine in an airborne form, we think …my assistant really doesn’t know what she’s talking about only that it helps these two kitties and we would be happy to find out more info for you.

    One of the kitties went to a foster home for awhile and his asthma all but went away. Unfortunately, the foster people returned him and his asthma came back. They think his asthma is stress related. My assistant also has mild asthma and her breathing is definitely more labored when she is stressed.

    Your pal, Pip

  14. Daisy

    We’re so happy that it is ass mah and not a heart thingy. It will be fantastic if they find out what’s causing it and it can be controlled. Paws crossed.

    XXXOOO Daisy, Bella & Roxy

  15. we are glad they think they know what is going on. but we aren’t so sure about that gadget you got there. mom says that when some cats at that Best Friends place where she volunteers have to be “nebulized” they get to take a snooze in a nice warm carrier that is wrapped up tight. we aren’t fans of the ptu – but something to think about

  16. Mr Smudge: We are glad you got that good news and hope that you will co-operate with your Mom and try to use the thingy for the Kat AssMah. Our Aunt Marie uses one and says it makes her bootiful. We do not know if it has the same result on male cats. Feel free to verify her opinion or not.
    gus n teka

  17. So glad you’re OK…well at least your heart is OK. Just pretend you’re breathing in a little catnip!

  18. Smudge…This looks very do-able. I’m glad you got a good report back on your heart.

  19. smudge our cats have allergies too. so happy your heart is good… Allergies you can doctor, not always so with the heart!! You are so cute!!
    Tell us Smudge what did you play with when you played so hard!!!

  20. That’s a scary looking contraption, Smudge. We sure hope it helps you out!

    Love ya lots,
    Mitch and Molly

  21. Mom says she has asthma from her allergies, and you should be able to live a pretty long, healthy, active life if that’s what it is! I’m glad it’s not something really serious like your heart!

    Bunny

  22. It’s AGES since we stopped by but well, my assistant claims to have been busy and she hasn’t been assisting that well – anyway, Smudge, we are very glad that your heart is ok – the ass-muh gizmo looks a bit overwhelming but I bet it will be fine and it will make you better which is the really important thing!!!

    Woof

    Groucho

  23. I’m so glad to hear that Smudge’s heart is OK!!!!!!!! I’m sorry we haven’t had time to comment much, but you’ve been in our thoughts. So glad all will be well.

  24. So glad to hear that it’s not a heart problem. Sabre also suffers from asthma and I do have one of the contraptions. He is better, however, if I simply cover his cat carrier with a heavy blanket and tuck it in all around, then put him in and squirt a few times into the carrier. He knows it helps and, if he is battling, he will go into the carrier himself, waiting for his relief to come.

  25. Jed & Abby in MerryLand

    We’re so sorry you’ve been sick, Smudge, but we’re glad it seems to be treatable. Treat being the operative part of that last word: we’re sure you mom will bribe you liberally with treats to get you to put up with that breathing thingie. Abby may have just developed ass-ma, too, after a serious bout with bronchitis. Her wheezing is lessening and we’re hoping it will eventually just go away. She gets pills but no bottle breathing, at least so far.

    What a wonderful visit you hosted for Pip and Puddles!

  26. Roo

    Smudge so glad your heart is sound 😀 That asthma control contraption is probably gonna take some getting use to butt I know you’ll do just fine with it! Sure would be great if something can be done to get rid of your allergies. Paws crossed the tests help with that 🙂

    Waggin at ya,
    Roo

Leave Me a Pawment!

