Angel Donna, Pressies and Forgetting How to Be Brave

Did you know sometimes I forgets how to be brave?

P1090298

Used to, I was skeered all the time. I liked my crate condo and the back yard and the couch, and that was just about it.

Over the last few years, mom and dad and Brudder Ranger have all worked real hard to help me know that the world isn’t so skeery and I have worked real hard on not worrying so much.

Butt…sometimes I forget.

Take last Saturday, for an example. Mom told me that my Angel Donna, who rescued me from that bad place, was going to be in town and we were gonna go see her. Gosh, I was awfully excited! So we hopped in the car and away we went! But while we were on our way, I realized that Mom hadn’t brought Brudder Ranger, and Brudder Ranger always goes EVERYWHERE with us. So that started me worrying.

Then we pulled up into this parking lot that kinda looked familiar but I wasn’t sure from where. I thought maybe it looked like the place where our V.E.T. lives and that started making me feel even funnier. Maybe Mom was just trying to trick me into going to see the V.E.T.!

THEN…mom went inside without me and I sat in the car for like 10 minutes 87 million hours and the more I sat there, the more I thought maybe something bad was gonna happen.

AND THEN…Mom came out with these lady-humans, including my Angel Donna, and they all seemed super nice and they were smiling and they oohed and ahhed over me and wanted to pet me. And they smelled like other doggies and then all-of-a-sudden, I got to worrying that maybe, just maybe, Mom wanted to GIVE ME BACK! Well, it got even worse when Mom was like, “Let’s get out and walk around, Mayzie.” WALK AROUND? At that point, I thought for sure that was super secret code for, “I’m gonna leave you behind forever.”

As you can prolly tell, my brindle brain sometimes runs away with me.

Well, we walked around and they all stood around talking  (I’m not sure what they said cuz in my head, all I could hear was, “AIIIIYEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!!”). And they tried to pet me and talk sweet to me, but all I could do was stand there and shiver and shake and wish we could go home.

FINALLY, mom said, “Okay, Mayzie, why don’t we go get in the car?” Car? OUR car? YIPPPEEEE!!! Mom wasn’t leaving me behind after all!

Well, I tell you what, I was never so happy to see our house and Brudder Ranger and Dad and the kittehs in all my life!

After we’d been home for a little while and I calmed my brindle brain down, Mom said, “Mayzie! Wanna see what Angel Donna got you?”

That’s right! Angel Donna gave me a pressie! Which made me feel kinda bad that I wasn’t more furendly — kinda.

So Mom starts pulling all of this grrrreat stuff outta this bag. It was AH-mazing! I mean, just LOOK at it!

P1090239

Wow! Treatsies and a blankie and MORE treatsies…

P1090289

And a nice card and some balls and…oooo, what’s this?

P1090278

A LOOFAH DOG! Angel Donna, how did you know I luvs Loofah Dogs?

P1090287

They’re super great for playing tug!

P1090282

Oh! And guess what else was in there?

P1090270

Yep! My very own Second Chance shirt. (Mom says it’s for her but we all know the truth, don’t we?)

P1090259

Purple really sets off my Most Beautiful Brindle Furs, don’t you think?

P1090244

Thank you, thank you, Angel Donna, for all the Most Wonderful pressies! I hope I can see you again sometime soon and I’ll try to be way braver next time…

Okay?

P1090256

Note from Mom: Mayzie has come so far since we adopted her that I’m always surprised by episodes like this since they are so rare now. I hate that I put her in a situation where she felt uncomfortable, and looking back, I realize there are several things I should have done. I should’ve brought Ranger (her figurative security blanket). I should’ve put a sweater or coat on her because that always seems to make her feel more secure. I should’ve walked her around in the parking lot to let her get comfortable with her surroundings before bringing everyone out. And I should’ve brought treats for all the ladies to dispense. Lesson(s) learned. When living with a dog who is confidence-challenged, one should never take anything for granted. In all situations, do everything you know how to do to make your dog feel safe and secure, and to set them up for success!

26 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

26 responses to “Angel Donna, Pressies and Forgetting How to Be Brave

  1. Daisy

    We understand all about that skeery stuff…..especially Bella who seems to be getting worse instead of better. We don’t really like going in the car by ourselves. We like the pack with us.

    XXXOOO Daisy, Bella & Roxy

    And Mayzie, purple is your colour!

  2. Dexter

    Sounds like it worked out in the end because you did score some great loot. Hey, I can get scared too when I am in a place I don’t recognize. Your mom is right, when my momma remembers cookies and does calm attention work with me it helps a lot.

    Kisses,
    Dexter

  3. It’s okay to be scared now and then, Mayzie. Look at how far you’ve come thanks to the love your mom, dad, and Brudder Ranger have given you! Always look forward, sweetie; never look back (except when you thank those wonderful people for saving you, of course!). We love your pressies, especially your new shirt. Oops. I mean, Mom’s new shirt…

  4. Ahhhhhhhhh Mayzie…it is ok sweet girl. It is hard to know what is going in especially when we can’t talk and ask questions. One thing for sure you are you are with your family for life. Mayzie Mom who would have thought after all this time Mayzie would ‘still remember’. And you were with her too. Great pressies Mayzie and purple looks lovely with brindle!
    Hugs Madi your BFFF

  5. Mayzie, you just crack us up with that look in the loofah pic – too cute! You are so lucky to have that nice lady Angel Donna – we bet you will be a lot braver on your next visit.

    Woos – Phantom, Thunder, Ciara, and Lightning

  6. Frankie Furter and Ernie

    Mayzie I (Frankie Furter) know ALL about that being kinda SCARED of everythingy. I used to be JUST LIKE THAT. It would make my mom cry and that made thingies seem Even WORSE fur Me. BUTT I am SOOOOO much better now… except when there is thunder.
    The one thingy that I always held on to was…. the knowledge that MOM and DAD… LOVED me .. TRULY LOVED ME. Just like YOUR peeps LOVE YOU.
    Wow Girrrrrrl your special angel surely did give you some FANGtastic pressies.

  7. Awwwww….poor Mayzie! I know that sometimes it’s skeeeery to go into new situations. Next I am sure you’ll handle it like a champ!

  8. You look amazing in purple! I bet next time you will be all kinds of confident. Know what I get scared sometimes to when I go to the ball field at the Fort. It happens to all of us.
    Blessings,
    Goose

  9. harrispen

    Mayzie it’s okay to not be brave all the time. You sure are lucky to have Angel Donna in your life as well as your parents (who would never give you back!). That was a nice pressie package you got too.

    Millie

  10. Will and Eko

    From thinking you’re going to the vet to getting lots of great presents is a pretty awesome change of direction!

  11. Anonymous

    Just wanted to take a moment to tell you how much I enjoy reading your post. Living in Connecticut, it seems all of us are a bit fearful these last few days. Like Mayzie, we will seem brave, but will have our fearful moments. Thank you so much for sharing and especially what to do better for next time. Mayzie’s point of view is well written and it’s amazing how she can express her thoughts!

    • Thank you oh-so-much for your very kind words. We have been thinking of all of you in CT since Friday (my momma has been very leaky about that) and I’m sending everybuddy there warm wiggles and brindle kisses. I sure do know that nothing in the world will make you not skeered when you’re skeered. But what I’ve found is that it helps a lot to have somebuddy on your side. Oh, and cheese is a mighty good start, too. It’s kinda hard to be sad when you’re eating cheese, don’t you think?

  12. Mayzie, take comforts in the fact that your momma will never ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever let you go. Wherever she is, you will always be too.

    Your Pal,

    Miss Fendi HoneyBuzz

  13. I like these posts because it really helps me understand what it must feel like to be so uncertain. Though I think after having our pups for so long we all take things for granted. I’m not as diligent about some things with our own dogs anymore, and I only remember after they do something I’m not happy about.

  14. Being brave is tough sometimes! But Angel Donna must love you an awful lot to give you so many wonderful presents!

    You know, there is this thing called a Thunder Shirt…maybe your mom already knows it. But it works like a sweater only better, so I thought I would tell you about it, just in case 🙂

  15. Those are wonderful pressies from your Angel Donna, and I’m sure that you know that she gave you the most wonderful pressie ever when she found your mom and dad and Brudder Ranger for you. So maybe she would like a short note with a pawprint from you, just to have and sniff. Or, send her a treatsie, but only for a hooman tummy? We know she loves you lots, but it is still nice to say thanks. And next time, give her lots of kisses.

    gussie n teka

  16. Susie and Sidebite

    We think you did well Mayzie, it takes along time to get over being scared because of your passed life. It has taken me four years and I still hate peeps(except my own) and I go hide in my dog house till they leave. keep up the good work and think positive!

  17. Oh Mayzie, I totally understands!! I used to bark at strange peeps, and now and again, I still do. Good things you had your Moms there, and look at all the pressies you ended up with!! SCORE! I bets next time, you’ll be just as loveable as can be.

    Kisses,
    Ruby

  18. Mayzie, I totally understand, too. I don’t like to go anywhere – even the backyard – without MY brother. You just never know…

    -Ruby

  19. We have that same “Wipe Your Paws” mat!

  20. Your mom would never leave you there, Mayzie! You’re hers for keeps, forever and ever!
    What supernice pressies you got!

    Love ya lots,
    Mitch and Molly

  21. I’m sorry you got skeered, Mayzie. Wow, you sure got some neat stuff out of it.

  22. That is SOOOOO your kholour

    (or so Mom tells me to paw)

    Hugz&Khysses,
    Khyra
    PeeEssWoo: Sorry woo got kindasortafreakied – next time just fluff your tail and be brave 😉

  23. Aww, Mayzie, it can be hard to be brave ALL the time. I’m glad you have a momma who understands and knows how to keep reassuring you. I’m sure next time you’ll do better. And I KNOW that Angel Donna understands.

    Oh, and purple does suit you MOST magnificently.

  24. littlemissjackie

    Oh Miss Mayzie, I just now found this postie, I don’t know how we missed it! Gosh, I think you’ve been doing a super job being brave! And I’m sure all the nice ladies understood that sometimes everypup has a not-so-brave day. It’s great that your mom has thought of ways to make things easier for you next time! Goodness, what an exciting and luvly array of pressies! I bet you’re having a great time trying them all out!

    Luvs,
    Jackie

  25. We love your colorful Bo Bo toy. We get them too.
    Glad you have a safe home with people that love you and don’t have to be scared any more.

    Emma

Leave Me a Pawment!

