A Friday Poem: Just a Dog

Hi, everybuddy! My mom found this not long ago and we luved it so much that we thought we would share. (Don’t worry. It’s not sad.) Even if you’ve seen it before, it’s so Most Wonderful that we figured you wouldn’t mind reading it again. Hope you all have the very happiest weekend ever!

Just a Dog
by Richard Biby

From time to time, people tell me, “lighten up, it’s just a dog,”
or, “that’s a lot of money for just a dog.” They don’t understand
the distance traveled, the time spent, or the costs involved
for “just a dog.” 

Some of my proudest moments have come about with “just a dog.” 
Many hours have passed and my only company was “just a dog,” 
but I did not once feel slighted. 

Some of my saddest moments have been brought about by “just a dog,” 
and in those days of darkness, the gentle touch of “just a dog” gave me 
comfort and reason to overcome the day. 

If you, too, think it’s “just a dog,”
then you will probably understand 
phrases like “just a friend,”
“just a sunrise,” or “just a promise.”

“Just a dog” brings into my life the very essence of friendship, trust, 
and pure unbridled joy. 

“Just a dog” brings out the compassion and patience that make 
me a better person. Because of “just a dog,” I will rise early, take 
long walks and look longingly to the future. So for me and folks like me, 
it’s not “just a dog” but an embodiment of all the hopes and dreams of the 
future, the fond memories of the past, and the pure joy of the moment. 

“Just a dog” brings out what’s good in me and diverts my thoughts away 
from myself and the worries of the day. 

I hope that someday they can understand that it’s not “just a dog,”
but 
the thing that gives me humanity and keeps me from
being “just a man or 
woman.”

So the next time you hear the phrase “just a dog,” just smile — 
because they “just don’t understand.” 


32 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

32 responses to “A Friday Poem: Just a Dog

  1. Oh Mayzie! I so, so, so,so, so, so, so,so, so, so, so,sooooo loves this.

    Thank you for sharing. xo HoneyBuzz

  2. This is one of the most brilliant poems ever and I never get tired of reading it. Thank you for sharing it, Mayzie!

    Love ya lots,
    Mitch

  3. That is just terrific and Oh so darn true. What we do without our animals. My animals are my very best friends and always help me through rough times. Great pictures of all of you. Love Dad and Mayzie having a nice time together.

  4. That is a great poem, and a great photo essay accompanies it. Thank you for sharing.

    gussie n teka

  5. I Loved, loved, loved this wonderful poem! Thanks for sharing and your pictures are spectacular!

    Winston
    Chloe and Cecil

  6. That was just a most wonderful poem…and how true.

  7. Just a dog? No way. But humans? They all want to look alike and act alike…. so just a human? Maybe.

  8. Ooooh, that is a wonderful poem Mayzies.

    I know it is not supposed to be sad….butt, it still makes my momma get all teary-eyed. In a good way, I think.

  9. That’s a wonderful poem! You’re making my mom all teary-eyed.

  10. Thanks for sharing that poem. I love the pictures that you included too.

  11. Sarge

    Hey Mayzie!
    Wow, what a great poem! Yes, we share hopes, dreams and pure joy with everyone who will open themselves to us. Thanks for giving me joy today!
    Grr and Woof,
    Sarge, COP

  12. One of the many reasons I love dog blogging – it has put me in touch with people who understand it is more than “just a dog”…

    😀

    Sam

  13. Dis is one ovs our Mooms favs poems her does lovs it, her says dere is no such fing as ‘ Jus a dog ‘

    Lovs
    Us three
    xxxxxxxx

  14. Every time Mom reads this, she just nods her head and smiles – she SO understands that we SO not just dogs.

    Have a great weekend.

    Woos – Phantom, Thunder, Ciara, and Lightning

  15. Miss Mayzie!

    That’s ‘just a poem’ until you added your lovely brindle furs and brudder Ranger’s awesome snooter!

    Thanks for sharing!

    Sam and Pippen

  16. ARROOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!! THAT’S a poem We can read every day. You’re so wise Miss Mayzie. Thanks for sharing.

    And, hey, people who think we’re “just dogs” are the same people who think I look like a skunk!!!! Off with their heads!

    Arooo! Stuart

  17. Pip

    Oh gosh, I haven’t read this before. Thanks for sharing it. We love it and it is so true. Just a dog, just a sunrise …so beautiful!

    Your pal, Pip

  18. Dat always gets mum blubbery! Every single time her reads. We has nevers understood how one could just be a dog… I am not just a dog…I am Puddles…hehehe.
    It is unfortunate some peoples has nevers experienced what all of our peeps has experienced…just because of a dog.
    Mum knows a guy dat wasn’t really a pet person and then he gots a white Boxer. He told mum da udder day, he never thought it would be likes dis. Dude, is totally smitten with her nows…and he freaks everytime her gets sick, said it absolutely breaks his heart. Her be a puppy and eats everything and then her throws up.

    Puddles

  19. Frankie Furter and Ernie

    What a spectacular post.. the Words and the VISUALS of You and Brudder Ranger BOTH…

  20. I am with all the rest Amber and Mayzie!!!! It brought tears to my eyes and a smile too!!! My Mother use to say “it’s just a dog ”
    She didn’t ever love a dog!!! She missed so MUCH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    THANK YOU FOR THIS!!!!!!

  21. This is why we loves Blogville so much. Cuz everyone gets we aren’t “just a dog”.

    Loves, loves, loves the pictures of you and Ranger’s crossed paws!

    Wags!

    Mr. Nubbin’

    PeeS. I promise to love on your mom when you loan her to us this weekend.

  22. Mayzie, we want you to know we have that poem by Mom’s computer at home and work. We did knot who was the author because our copy says Unknown so we are glad to know who wrote it. Thanks for Sharing. Sniffs, The HoundDogs

  23. AMEN!! What a wonderful poem and pictures.
    Mom has heard ‘just a dog/cat’ way too many times. Especially when folks hear about my human sister’s kitty and his struggles with multiple serious health issues. My sissy keeps a dairy on him and what works and what doesn’t during each ordeal. Often times his Vet will ask my sis to bring in her Diary before a visit!! Mom says Harley is absolutely the sweetest, best nature kitty even with all his health issues. They have nearly lost Harley many times. Mom is positive the strong bond of unconditional love and devotion and his wonderful Vet are the reason he is thriving with diabetes and a very serious case of IBD.
    Hugs and purrs to you all,
    Madi and Mom

  24. It’s such an amazing poem!
    Dachshund Nola

  25. Well, you got mom all leaky. It was just a poem and some pictures. Sheesh!

    -Bart and Ruby

  26. Daisy

    That poem came to us with Kendra’s ashes. So true.

    XXXOOO Daisy, Bella & roxy

  27. Great poem. I’m not just a dog. I’m family 🙂 None of us are “just a dog” we are unique and special and wonderful!

    Emma

  28. Benny & Lily

    Love that Mayzie
    Benny & Lily

  29. What a great poem! Mom Julie has always been a cat lover but found out there was plenty of room in her heart when our golden came along!

    Have a good weekend!
    Tom, Mom Julie & Mittens (turning into our dog’s sleeping buddy 🙂

  30. volunteer4paws

    i love this! thank you so much for posting… i needed to read this today.

  31. Yes, Mayzie… So often, they aren’t “Just a dog,” they are Just a “BIG chunk of our heart” like my OC was… Grammy

Leave Me a Pawment!

