Happy National Mutt Day!

Today is National Mutt Day!

According to the National Mutt Day website, “National Mutt Day was created in 2005 by Celebrity Pet Expert and Animal Welfare Advocate Colleen Paige…to raise awareness of the plight of mixed breed dogs in shelters around the nation and to educate the public about the sea of mixed breed dogs that desperately await new homes.

Did you know I’m 100% mutt? It’s true! My dee-en-ay is all jumbled up with lotsa different kinds of doggies in it. And, well, I don’t like to brag but I think that makes me kinda sorta special.

So all you mutts out there, repeat after me…”I’m a Mutt and I’m PROUD!”

33 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

33 responses to “Happy National Mutt Day!

  1. Yay, we are first!!!!!! Bambi was a wonderful mutt!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Even with this big huge puppy I still miss my sweet Bambi!!!!
    Yay MUTTS !!!!!!!!!
    xx, Zoie & Fern

  2. Sam

    You are very special, Miss Mayzie!

    Sam

  3. Uji

    Yoo is uber speshul Miss Mayzie, mutts or pure breed wee is all dogs at da end ov da day. Wee all sniff butts, wee all leev pee mail, wee all toot , most ovs us snore ( sooner or ater ), wee all need an deserves to bee luvved plain n simples really isn’t it Miss Mayzie

    so mee says YAY FUR ALL DOGS EVRYWHERE !!!!

    Luv
    Uji

  4. You are a great represenative for the 100% Mutt breed. You rock Mayzie!

    Sniffs, The HoundDogs

  5. Mayzie! you are a great spokesperson for your breed(s). Thanks for sharing your day with us

  6. You certainly are very special Mayzie. We just think you are the best and it just has to be because you are a mutt. Mutts are the very bestest of all dogs. Hope you and your family have a great day and a super week end.

  7. Mayzie,

    You go my BFF! You should be proud, you is one of da bestest mutts in da world AND you is my cuzin’ cuz you is part boxer…BONUS! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Woofs and Licks,
    Maggie Mae and Max

  8. Thank you for letting us know! It’s a good day to celebrate all the mutts out there
    Benny & Lily

  9. You ROCK Mayzie Mutt!

    The Road Dogs

  10. MOL Mayzie…I’m a feline mutt so I’m celebrating with you!!
    Mom cracked up at pee pie!! Oh that is too funny the things we think we hear. She told me my human sister used think in the song Ruby by Kenny Rogers that he was singing his wife left him with
    four hundred children (it was 4 hungry children). My sis used to always say how much food does it take to feed 400 children.
    Hugs Madi

  11. Makes you UNIQUE, Mayzie….and we wouldn’t have it any other way.

    XXXOOO Daisy, Kendra, Bella & Roxy

  12. Yay National Mutt Day! Who knew?!

  13. You are one of the most beautiful mutts we know, Mayzie! Happy National Mutt Day!

    Love ya lots
    Maggie and Mitch

  14. Happee National Mutt Day!! You are a most beautiful brindle Mutt!!

    -Ruby and Bart

  15. Happy National Mutt Day!
    Kisses and Tail Wags,
    Dachshund Nola

  16. Pingback: Bath Day | Busted With Brutus

  17. YAYYY!!!!!

    Im celebrating =)
    teehee

  18. Pip

    Say it out loud, I am a Mutt and I am PROUD!! My DNA is a mystery …I look like a yorkie, but I am BIG (for a yorkie) so I must have a little something else happening too.

    Your fellow mutt, Pip

  19. Put your hands up for the mutts! My mama was told I’m part Corgi, but everyone knows I am part pittie and ALL Turkey! Happy National Mutt Day!

  20. Frankie Furter

    Oh Mayzie… I REMEMBER when you were getting your Dee N Ay checked… we all tried to GUESS… BUTT I thought THEN and Still Do NOW… that What your REALLY are is… Just Beautiful Inside and Out!! (and I’m not talkin the House either).
    YOU are SOOOOO special to all of Blogville.

  21. Happy Mutts Day to you, my special friend! Special, you gots it!!!

  22. Mom had lots of mutts during her very long life, and shr says they were all wonderful dogs. We salute the mutts of the world. And Mayzie Mutt – you are beautiful!

    Woos ~ Phantom, Thunder, Ciara, and Lightning

  23. Happy National Mutt Day, Mayzie! How did you celebrate? Was there a parade in your honor? Did you get something special to eat? Inquiring hounds want to know!

    Bunny

  24. Jed & Abby in MerryLand, USA

    Goody gumdrops! Another holiday we never knew about but which is clearly a cause for celebration – and treats. Thanks for keeping us informed, as always, Miss Mayzie.

    Has Brudder Ranger gotten over that silliness about his tree guarding skills? Really, Brudder Ranger, you did your duty perfectly. You sounded the alarm. If your mom and dad expected a dog to actually secure the tree and run off the thieves, they needed to borrow a doggie with Mango muscle.

    Jed & Abby

  25. Miss Mayzie,
    You are 100% beautiful and if they could bottle your genetics there would be lots of good doggies just like yourself. My humans had a little spaniel / bassett hound that they are saying was the most wonderful doggie in many ways.

    Slobbers,
    Mango

  26. Hey, Julie’s a mutt and we get along just fine! (I couldn’ resist)

    I think it’s great having a special day for all of us with different dee-n-ays. It’s what makes history.

    Hugs,
    Tom

  27. Sarge

    Hey Mayzie!
    Wow, I’m so totally ashamed…I’ve been so far behind since turkeyday that I completely missed this! I’m a Mutt too…and proud of it!! I think you are gorgeous and I hope you had a great mutt day. I’m headed backward now to catch that other post to see if my COP services are needed! ๐Ÿ™‚
    Grr and Woof,
    Sarge, COP

  28. Next to a boxer, being a mutt is the best there is! You get little bits of all sorts of cool stuff in you. Happy Mutt Day!

  29. You are such a beautiful Mutt, too, Mayzie! I’ve had mutts all of my life until we got the corgis, and they have all been wonderful friends and much loved! This third generation of “country corgis” (Gimli, Pip & Mercy) could be considered mutts because they are only 3/4 corgi and their grandpa was a sneaky chihuahua/Doxie that found a moment alone with OC. (Grammy spilling secrets… Sssshhh… don’t tell anyone or I’ll be in trouble by 6 corgis)

  30. littlemissjackie

    Miss Mayzie, I hope you had a super National Mutt Day! I’m so proud to have such a great mutt brudder and so many wonderful mutt furiends!

    Luvs,

    Jackie

  31. Hope you had a great National Mutt day, what a great day! ๐Ÿ™‚

  32. OMG, wish we’d known! We would have celebrated extra hard…even though every day we celebrate Mutt Day around here!

  33. Cant believe I missed Mutt Day!!!

    Stop on by for a visit
    Kari
    http://dogisgodinreverse.com

Leave Me a Pawment!

