The Case of the Dislodged Lamp

Hi everybuddy. I haves a little mystery for you today and it involves this…


Now, there’s three different versions of how that lamp gots there and I’ll let YOU be the judge of whose version is right.

First…

MOM’S VERSION

My husband has been out of town on business this week, so every day I come home at lunch to let the dogs out. I enter the house through the garage and usually they’re there to greet me.

But not yesterday. “Hmmmm, that’s strange,” I thought. Then I saw the scene above.

My mind raced. The cats? No, they’re kept in a separate room from the dogs when we’re not home. Had someone broken in? Quickly, I looked to my left. Okay, that’s good. The tv’s still there. I stood still for a moment and then whistled for the dogs. A second passed. Then two. And finally I heard the welcoming stampede of Mayzie and Ranger rushing down the stairs.

They each greeted me as if nothing was amiss and I let them outside while I inspected the living room. Everything was in its place except for the lamp and candle warmer, which normally sit on a table near the window, like so…


Whatever had taken place had caused the lamp and the candle warmer to come off the table, become unplugged, then travel across the floor and down the stairs into our den.

I paused a moment, completely perplexed. And then it hit me. Opening the front door, this is what I found.


Ah ha! Mystery solved! Ranger HATES the UPS man with a vengeance and my guess is that when he delivered those packages, Ranger stood at the window barking his head off. While there, he somehow got his legs tangled in the cord and pulled everything off the table. He then panicked, trying to get away by running into the den with the lamp and candle warmer trailing behind him. And somehow during this melee, nothing was broken, if you can believe it.

My first thought was, “Well, maybe this’ll teach him a lesson.” My second thought was, “Who am I kidding? He’s a terrier.”

BRUDDER RANGER’S VERSION

While I commend my mother for this charming fairy tale, it is simply that…a fabrication. I should know. I was there. Allow me to relay the REAL story to you.

At approximately 11:32 a.m., I was enjoying my mid-morning siesta when I heard a truck approach. Alarmed, I sat up and watched as a man, dressed all in brown, crept toward our house. His eyes darted back and forth and I could see nervous perspiration gathering upon his brow. Silently, he made his way up the front stairs of our house and I noticed he had boxes in his arms. No doubt these were a means to carry away our valuables once he broke in.

Quickly and with no thought for my own safety, I leapt into “Protect the House at All Costs” rat terrier mode! I raced to the window and began barking a warning to let him know that I was on to him. But he kept coming. I barked louder and more ferociously. Before I knew it, he was at the front door! What could I do? How could I save my home from this intruder?

Well, the next few moments are a blur but I vaguely remember leaping with some velocity at the lamp. My thought process was that the lamp would crash through the window, striking the would-be burglar in the head either rendering him unconscious or scaring him away. However, I must have hit it with greater force than I expected because, rather than going through the window, it ricocheted off and sailed down the stairs into the den.

Fortunately, my point had been made and the intruder scurried away, looking furtively in each direction to ensure he had not been seen.

So while my mother was correct in assuming that I caused the lamp to become dislodged from its normal resting place, she was entirely wrong on the scenario which led up to it.

Let this be a lesson to all brown-clad would-be burglars!

MAYZIE’S VERSION

My version? It was The Ninjas!

So…what do YOU think really happened?

48 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

48 responses to “The Case of the Dislodged Lamp

  1. Daisy

    Being terriers ourselves, we have to believe Brudder Ranger….

    XXXOOO Daisy, kendra & Bella

  2. I think Ranger has the correct story. Mom is kind of deluding herself on this one.

    Slobbers,
    Mango

  3. Hmmm…I love a good mystery. Mom’s analysis seems sound, but seeing the look on Ranger’s face (truthful and proud) and his detailed accounting of events makes me think that his version is what really happened. Of course, if you just went by what it must have sounded like, Mayzie probably captured the truth there. I’m just glad (and amazed) that nothing was broken and no one was harmed. Sounds like you have a pretty good alarm system set-up.

  4. Ninjas. No doubt about it.

  5. Roo

    Tee Hee Hee. Good stories by all. Bettin the real truth is somewhere in the middle 😉

    Waggin at ya,
    Roo

  6. Hmmmm…we go with Brudder Ranger. We have a fine alarm system here, and we know how well they work!

    Teka

  7. Jerry

    I’m with Mayzie. Ninja’s, Definately Ninja’s.

  8. Now, you being my BFF and all I don’t want you to thinks I is takin’ your side cuz of dat but your explanation sounds more logical.
    Your mom’s “theory” sounds a little far fetched to me. Her lives in a very dillusional world. Hoomans come ups with da funniest stuffs sometimes doncha think?

    Puddles

  9. Ninjas! Totally! We recognize their handiwork… they have no regard for the parental unit’s possessions.

    Sam and Pippen

  10. Ranger…hold that thought mom is loling so hard and holding her sides she cannot type. ………………………………………………………….
    ok here we are. My first thought was my Cap’n was trying to escape to come see me. Howerver, after reading both sides of the tale here are out thoughts.
    We know your mom has a fascination with fantasy, So Ranger we vote for your version. MOL
    FYI I, Madi, have tangled with a sneaky lamp…they are not to be trusted.
    Hugs Madi and Mom

  11. We suspect the truth is somewhere is the middle (though we really like Mayzie’s version).

  12. Thank you! This was just the laugh that I needed this morning! Great job Ranger on protection your home!!

  13. Umm … I’m thinking Colonel Mustard. With the candlestick. In the library.

    Or Ninjas!

  14. I’ll agree with the first version, you can’t control dogs especially when they know there is a stranger coming. Even a well behaved dog.. You can’t do anything about it. You’re just so lucky that Ranger is fine when he grab all of those wirings! 😀

  15. Frankie Furter

    I’m thinkin that it was NINJAS and BROWN GUY BOTH… butt under those costumes.. I’m bettin that they were REALLY…
    SQUIRRELS!!!!!

  16. We humans are always anthropomorphising our 4 leggeds. Mom’s story is just another example of this phenomna.

    Bruddah Ranger speaks the truth. Sorry, Mom!

  17. We love Mayzie’s version. Too funny Mayzie. We believe that probably everyone was correct. We too are very glad that no one got hurt including the lamp. Brudder Ranger, you are very lucky that the lamp didn’t get wrapped around your neck. Be carefull all of you. Take care.

  18. OoH I am wif you on dis one Mayzie, ninjas fur sure! 😉

    Woofs and Licks,
    Maggie Mae

  19. I’m with you Mayzie, I’m sure it was Ninjas!

    Wags!

  20. Fern Reed

    Well Mayzie I would like to agree with you but I am afraid I have to agree with Mom. Sometimes mom’s have to stick together you know!!!
    I am just glad no one or nothing got hurt!!!
    Cute post!!
    xx, Bambi & Fern

  21. This is really quite the mystery, but I know that whenever Miss Blair and the others are not right at the door to greet me that something has gone down. I think it was a combination of Rangers story and Mom’s. Sometimes when you are defending against ups guys you get a little tangled and distracted.

    Erika

  22. Ranger, we HATE those brown-clad guys, too!! You did an excellent rott-worthy job of GUARDING!! We know terriers are tough, but we’d like to make you an Honorary Rottie. One must go to any lengths to protect one’s domain and one’s family from those dressed in brown. We are sure that Levi Mac would concur with our award of this special honor!

    -Gizmo, Bart and Ruby

  23. We dont know who did it but I like that lamp!

    Kari
    http://dogisgodinreverse.com/

  24. you are cracking me up! i loved this!

  25. Oh Miss Mayzie, I think you were wize to keep away from those ninjas, you never know what kinds of odd things they’ll do! Maybe the brown man brought a box full of ninjas and Mr. Brudder Ranger scared them with his barks! I’m glad nobody got hurted!

    Concerned wiggles and anti-ninja barks,

    Jackie

  26. PeeeeEsss to Ranger: We have 2 terrier mixes next door – a doxie/terrier (eeek!!) and a chihuahua/terrier. Those gals alert US as to when it’s time to bark. AT ANYTHING! No dog goes down our street unannounced. But serious, usin’ the weapons available, like lamps – pure Rottie genius!
    Rottie Kisses to you and your beautiful sister,

    -Gizmo, Bart and Ruby

  27. It’s Mayzie’s version and I’m sticking to it.

    Roo Roo, Stuart
    PS Hey…drop by tomorrow. You’re Friday’s Foto Fun!

  28. It couldddddddddddddd be them ninjas you know.. i believe you Mayzie 😀

  29. and and and.. this calls for… Pip the Private Investigator to come and sort this outs… Pippppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppp!

  30. Levi

    Oh yea! Honorary Rottie- no question about it!
    Just like my killa cousin Dillon- rottie with an attitude 🙂 He hates those sneaky brown dressed guys too!

    Although- I tend to think those Ninja’s are the culprit. They come into my crate almost everyday and get me in trouble by chewing up my bedding. I tell mom- but she doesn’t believe me…

  31. I think either Ranger’s story or Mayzie’s story. You never know about those men in brown with brown trucks!

  32. Kristine

    Hahahahahaha!

    I agree with Mayzie. It had to be the ninjas. They are always up to something, knocking over lamps and chewing up expensive shoes. Very sneaky. You are very smart to hide from them, Mayzie.

  33. The OP Pack

    For some reason, the Momster wants to believe the Mom’s story – figures, right? The rest of us think the UPS guy let the squirrels in.

    Woos ~ Phantom, Thunder, and Ciara

  34. KittyplusCoco

    HAD to be the ninjas. Yeah, uh, that is our story and we are sticking to it. Nevermind that we are some times *mistakenly* referred to as Terriorists. We have kids that come up to our door to sell candy and junk, and just for kicks we opened the door a fraction of an inch. Let’s just say that we saw a blur of kids racing to flee the scene. What is funny is that they would have just gotten kisses, but oh well.

    Kitty and Coco

  35. We believe you Brudder Ranger. You are a wonderful home protector! We hope you get some extra treats today for protecting your home!

  36. Ohhh Mayzie Momma Mee dids reads dis hole mysterious saga to Da Pawrents n it dids cause much hilarity speshully wens mee read Mayzies version. Both mi Pawrents n mee agrees wivs Mayzie it wos Da Ninjas, it is always Da Ninjas ! !

    Lovs
    Ronnii
    xxxxxx

  37. Brudder Ranger fur sure!! Hey! You gotta protect your house and Mom cant fault you fur that!! Gotta watch those guys in the brown suits~~You just never know, they can be sneaky!! WTG Brudder ranger!!

    wags
    Jazzi and Addy

  38. We hate that UPS man! It was him that did it and Brudder Ranger is a hero for protecting his home! We hope you were rewarded handsomely, Brudder Ranger!

    Love ya lots
    Maggie and Mitch

  39. I’m not sure which version to believe, but I know that I had a very good giggle over the last two! And because I like to humor my mom, I’ll ask if that’s a Scentsy candle warmer. I say, your best bet is to keep that UPS man as far from the window as possible!

    Bunny

  40. miss mayzie,

    i’m pretty you ‘n brudder ranger are both right. see, the dude in the creepy brown clothes was a wanna-be ninja. his skillz need improvin’, though, cuz he’s not sneaky enough to evade your brudder ranger’s totally awesome sauce defenses!

    *woof*
    the booker man

  41. Sarge

    Hey Mayzie!
    Wow, I gotta say I like your tactic of staying away from this whole scene. You know peeps are always saying “it didn’t just walk away” when they lose something..but I think sometimes things do just walk away, or throw themselves around the room! Definitely not a dog problem.
    Grr and a Chuckling Woof,
    Sarge, COP

  42. Ninjas. I totally believe the ninja story!

    Nubbin wiggles,
    Oskar

    PS – I got your name changed on our blog roll & we really appreciate your putting our button on our blog.

  43. daisydog

    Quite a story! I think it was the UPS Man with Ninjas to protect him from Brudder Ranger 🙂

  44. Teddy Bear

    My bet is on the ninjas!!!

    Love,
    Teddy Bear & Sierra

  45. Georgie B

    Ninjas…always the Ninjas…they have even been known to pee or poop if mum is gone too long. Nasty little buggers they are.

  46. Tucker

    I think your mom tripped over the cord and it trying to pin it on you guys.

    woof – Tucker

  47. Hmmm… to answer this I need to ask a question… it seems in the BEFORE picture there were some wine bottles present. Were those bottles still full after the incident occurred???? (If so, may I have some while I ponder the case?)

    Wags,
    Zona

  48. OH, Ranger! We KNOW you were trying to protect the house from that guy in brown! He sneaks around here every once in a while and we about go through the window yelling at him to get out of here and off our property!!!

Leave Me a Pawment!

