Musings on the New Year and Leaps of Faith

So, you prolly don’t know this but before we started this bloggie, my mom had a bloggie of her own that nobuddy ever read where she used to write about me and my progress after I came to live here. Well, this time last year she wrote something that we thought we’d share with you. Now, you gotta keep in mind that she wrote this one whole year ago and lots of things have changed for me and I’ve come a long way since then. But mom says her feelings and thoughts about everything are still pretty much the same. Hope you like it!

****

Originally written January 1, 2010

The new year is always an exciting – and somewhat unnerving – time for me. 12 whole months spread out before me, filled with so much potential and so many things that might happen that I’d never expect.

This time last year, the thought of adding another dog to our family hadn’t even crossed my mind. My husband and I had talked occasionally of the type of dog we would get when the time came. Some sort of sporting dog that he could hunt with. A dog that loved to experience new things and new places. A confident, outgoing dog that would allow me to perhaps get its therapy dog certification someday. A dog that could go anywhere, do anything that we wanted to do.

Not a brindle, bully breed dog with crazy big bat ears. Not a dog that had such a terrible start to life that she was terrified of ceiling fans and the doormat and her reflection in the oven door and, well, anything different. Not a dog that slinks into a new setting looking around like something is going to swoop out of the sky and gobble her up. In other words, not Mayzie.

Now, this is something you must know about me. I’m a planner. I don’t make big decisions hastily. I research. I talk to people. I look at all angles and break it down into small steps that will help me reach the final goal. I think it over a long time before finally “pulling the trigger.” I do not take leaps of faith.

Yet when Mayzie first sat in my lap and looked into my eyes, I went flying off the cliff. And when I landed, what I found was that no, I hadn’t gotten the perfect dog. Instead, I had gotten the perfect dog for me.

Because for all her fears and quirks, she is the sweetest, gentlest, most loving soul I have ever encountered. She has a wacky sense of humor and makes me laugh every single day with her goofiness. And when she cuddles up to me and sighs a little sigh of contentment and lets me know how much she trusts me, it makes me so happy I could cry.

Just a few of the many things she has taught me in the time we’ve had her…

1. The world is big and scary but infinitely interesting.
2. Anything that appears big and scary can be brought down to size if you just walk up and bop it with your nose.
3. Learning new things is fun and gives you confidence.
4. The best way to make friends is to wag your tail and smile.
5. Cheese can get you through a lot of tough times.
6. Patience really is a virtue, but that doesn’t mean it’s easy.
7. Greet the ones you love with absolute reckless abandon, even if you just saw them 5 minutes before.
8. Play at least once each day.
9. Forgive, forgive, forgive.
10. Judge others for who they are, not on what they look like or on others’ opinions of them.

And of course, the most important thing Mayzie has taught me is that when life takes you to unexpected places, sometimes the best decision you can make is to take a leap of faith.

Happy New Year! And Happy Leaping!

39 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

39 responses to “Musings on the New Year and Leaps of Faith

  1. Daisy

    Just beautiful. We’re ending the old year a bit teary…..we love a happy ending!

    XXXOOO Daisy, kendra & Bella

    3 hrs and 45 minutes left in this year, here in Oz.

  2. Oh Mayzie!
    Your Momma writes beautifully…sniff…sniff*** that is our Momma** excuse her please..she is the leaky types.
    We are so so so glad your momma foundu and not another dog. Horrors! we would never have met!

    We think u are just pawfect and love u heaps. just for being u.
    Have a very very happy new year.. May there be everything that matters, in abundance for u.

  3. Our Mom got a little leaky too from that story. What a great story it was too. And Mayzie we sure are glad you found that terrific Mom of yours. It takes two to tango, and we know it took both of you to make you into such a great doggie. We wish all of you in Mayzie’s family and Mayzie a wonderful New Year. And Mayzie, behave tonight. MOL

  4. Great post! You know, they say the each dog comes into our lives to teach us something specific. So Mayzie was meant to be with you, just as Brutus was meant to be with me. There is so much we can learn about ourselves as we help our canine family on their journey through life! Sounds like a match made in heaven for both of us!
    Wishing you a safe, healthy, joyous New Year-
    Michelle, Brutus & Carmen

  5. AC

    I loved reading this! I keep getting this great message from New Years/Year end posts about faith, trusting, going for it, opening up to adventure…it hits close to home and I love it! Look at the little furry beasty it brought you!

    I cannot believe you’ve only had Mayzie for less than a year. You two are surely a perfect match. I feel lucky to have met you two this year. Keep up the exploring and cheese eating in 2011!

  6. OoH Mayzie,

    What a wunderful post to shares wif all of us! Remember we has da same gotcha day so we should plans a pawty!
    Happy Happy New Year to all of you!

    Woofs and Licks,
    Maggie Mae

    PeeS LUVS da new look on your bloggie!

  7. Mayzie, thanks for sharing that with us. Your mom is a pretty good learner (and writer!)

  8. Oh good gravies, ya’ll just had to go and poat dis didntcha? Bring on da tissues!!!!!!! (dis mum of mine clearly can be an emotional basket case).
    Nows, Mayzie…regardless of what anyone thinks, you IS perfect and your home was just meant to be. You was destined to be withs your mom and dad even though nobuddy knew it at da time. Why else would they haves just HAPPEN to go to dat pet store dat day? Yea, dats what I’m sayin’….things happen fur a reason.
    Ain’t it just amazing what we dogs can actually teach da hoomans…dang we smart! I am so lovin’ dat list of thingys Mayzie has taught you momma A…you got a gem of a brindle girl (with bat ears…hehehehe)
    Happy New Year’s!!!!!!!!

    Puddles

  9. Pip

    OK, hold on a minute I have a little something in my eye … this was just beautiful. Thanks so much for sharing. I think learning to forgive is about the most important lesson of all (the whole cheese thing is very important, too). I try to teach my family this as well.

    Now, my mom is not a planner (maybe you could teach her a thing or two). She tends to leap without looking and sometimes it works out and sometimes it doesn’t, but when it works – IT IS AMAZING! I was one of her leaps of faith, too, and as you can see, it worked out pretty well for all of us!

    Wishing you a very happy New Year!!!

    Your pal, Pip

  10. Frankie Furter

    This was a super post. I really enjoyed hearing how far you have come. AND I REMEMBER the sea link fan post you did. That one was hysterical. Sad and Scary… butt Hysterical too.
    Happy New Year to You and your Family. I hope 2011 brings you Joy Peace and Wonderful surprises.

  11. Frankie Furter

    Blogger just ATE my nice long comment.
    I remember your Sea Link Fan post.. that was grrreat. May you have a HAPPY NEW YEAR 2011 FULL of Joy and Peace and wonderful Surprises.
    good news about your grandma!!

  12. O M C and Oh my stars…
    Mayzie mom you have us both leaking….with joy!!!
    That is the most beautiful story of unconditional love and devotion we have every read…Mom says folks are put in situation sometimes w/o having a clue why or how they got there….it is called timing…and my sweetness timing is your friend you and Mom were meant to be.
    Hugs and many purrs of thanks for the inspiring story.
    Madi and Mom

  13. The OP Pack

    Well, we didn’t know you or your Mom a year ago, so this was just a delight for us to read. Beautiful, pure and simple – no other words could describe it. You are one lucky girl to have found such a wonderful home.

    Happy New Year!

    Woos ~ Phantom, Thunder, Ciara, and the Momster

  14. Frankie Furter

    Oh Cat Crap… I am trying to do 3 things at once and I just want to say FURGET that Last comment… It was meant to be … well, heck let’s just say… I got too many plates in the air at once this morning and leave it at that.. OK… well, of course you can Laugh your tail off at my expense. BaWaaaah

  15. K-9 Katastrophie

    Thanks for sharing! What a beautiful way of finding Mayzie. And she is so beautiful and sweet. When I look at BooBoo I think of Mayzie. BooBoo is starting to develope more brindle on her and it reminds me of her.

  16. Mom says she felt the same way about Treat, and really later about all of us. That we were the perfect dogs for her! I’m so glad that your mom jumped off that cliff. I can’t imagine a world where we don’t get to share the wonder of Mayzie every day!

    May 2011 be the best year that ever was!

    Bunny

  17. Mazie Girl, you’ve taught your mom some wonderful things that we all need to know. I’m glad you picked a mom who’s such a good writer! Happy New Year to you, Brudder Ranger, and your kittehs. Oh and to your Mom and Dad, too!!

    -Gizmo, Bart and Ruby

  18. MayzieGal
    That was twooly bootimous and touching
    Thank dog fow youw Mom’s leap of faith
    We so agwee wif hew, and look how much bettew hew life is wif you in it
    We wish you love and health and continood gweat adventoowes
    love and smoochie kisses fow the NewYEAW
    ASTA

  19. Oops our mama posted this already but under the WRONG NAME! See what happens when we take our eyes off of her for one minute?
    We’ve just started our own blog, and we’re going around trying to meet other bloggy pets. You are such a beautiful dog, and your momma’s story made OUR mama get tears in her eyes! (That seems to happen to her a lot!) One of us (Trixie) also was adopted from a shelter. We think ALL pets should have wonderful homes like we have, don’t you?!!

  20. Kristine

    I love this post. You and I have a lot of things in common. I am not a risk taker either. When we decided to get a dog I did a LOT of reading. We, or I, had very specific traits I was looking for, none of them included a dog that was reactive to strangers or a dog that barked at every bump in the night or a dog that would need constant attention. But, somehow, I ended up with one, despite all my plans. What are you gonna do?

    I’ve read so many times that you don’t always get the dog you want but sometimes you get the dog you need. Shiva is the biggest challenge I have ever taken on and I can say with certainty, she is exactly what I needed at the time. Mayzie obviously needed you just as much as you needed her. How wonderful you found each other.

    Happy New Year!

  21. Inkhredible post!

    It SO made us SMILE!

    Here’s to more smiles in 2011!

    Hugz&Khysses,
    Khyra

  22. daisydog

    Happy New Year Mayzie, and your momma is right us perfect dogs always find the right mommas!

  23. Our mom is wiping away tears, Mayzie! What a wonderful post!
    BTW, we “like” you on fb!

    Love ya lots
    Maggie and Mitch

  24. That is such a beautiful post. You have a great home now and are one lucky pup. 🙂

  25. Oh, Mayzie, that was just wonderful. I have to agree with every word, too. I hope you and yours have a most wonderful year, with lots and lots of cheese.

    lotsa licks, Lola

  26. What a wonderful story. Us doggies sure have a lot to teach the humans.

    Slobbers,
    Mango

  27. KB

    That is a beautiful post, in every way. I’m so glad that you and Mayzie found each other since you were clearly destined to be together. I know that sigh of contentment – my dog K does it too, and it fills my heart with happiness.

    Happy New Year. May you have another wonderful year with Mayzie.

  28. That is a terrific post!! Very beautiful!! Happy New Year Mayzie and mom!! Lots of love, Holly and mom

  29. Wyatt

    Oh Sweet Mayzie Gal, you have come a long way baby!!
    We like your Mom’s list. Especially the one about the best way to make a friend, wag and smile!!

    Wyatt

  30. Sniff, snuffle, rubs eyes quickly nd dat is just Da Momster. Dat be da most lovely posty Mayzie yor Momster puts it perfeckly nd da list be so tru speshully da cheese one ( Da Popster sayd dis is deffo very tru ).
    Mee finks dat sometimes dere is a sooper speshul bond for some ovs us with da hoo-mans wee owns nd yoo n yor Momster has dat fur certain.

    Happi 2011 Mayzie n Mom ( n Family ), btw yor Crimbo looked most pawesome n playin wiv socksies is always goods

    Lovs
    Ronnii
    xxxxxx

    PeeS. Mi Momster says crazy bat ears are way kewl

  31. This brought a tear to my eye. Mayzie was meant to find her family and she did just that. Just like all the lucky dogs who find their way into the homes and hearts of the ones they are supposed to be with. Very sweet story. Happy New Year xoxo

  32. rottrover

    Hi Mayzie! We wanted you to know that we finally talked our mom into settin up a bloggie for us. Please come visit. Mom’s still trying to figure everything out, so it’s still kind of rough 🙂

    http://rottrover.blogspot.com

  33. Isn’t it incredible, the things we learn from our dogs?

    I can see how you fell in love with Mayzie. She has the gentlest eyes, the sweetest and most loving face, and, if I may say, the silliest ears. Sometimes, they choose us by crawling into our hearts and we have no control over it. Mayzie knew!

    Happy New Year to all of you!

  34. What a beautiful piece of writing. Thank you for all the loving lessons, and for the delightful story of Mayzie:)

  35. Twix

    Gosh Mayzie, that brought a tear to my eyes. It is a-mayzie-ing how far you’ve come in the past year. What great humans you have to take the time to work with you and bring out all the wonderful mayzie-ness ;o) Happy New Year!
    Snuggles,
    Twix

  36. Robin M. Franz

    What wonderful things your friends at Canine Assistants are doing 🙂

  37. We didn’t catch this the first time around, but this was so beautiful and well-written. I feel like you have captured what I don’t have the words to say. It is funny how we have doggy soul-mates.

Leave Me a Pawment!

