5 Things I Have Learned Abouts Kittehs

1. It’s okay for them to be on the table. But when you try to do the same thing, you get in trouble.

2. They can lick you all they want. But when you try to lick them, they gets offended.

3. They will not play with you, no matter how many play bows you do or how much you bark at them.

4. When you step on their tails (totally by accident), they shout skeery HBO words.

5.  And the most important thing I’ve learned is – whatever you do, make sure they’re not in the middle of the bed before you jump on it.

*********

PeeS. We added a new page to my bloggie called “Transport Requests.” (You can see it up top.) That’s where we’re going to post transport requests for Ratbone Rescues from now on. They have two coming up this weekend. One is Edwardsburg, MI – Newfane, NY, via Ohio. And the other is Morganton, NC – Seminole, OK, via TN and AR. If you think you might be able to help, be sure and visit the page!

49 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

49 responses to “5 Things I Have Learned Abouts Kittehs

  1. We’re not allowed to have cats because of Abby’s “strong prey drive” [what kind of excuse is that!] But mama says there’s a language problem that co-habiting dogs & cats have to learn to work around. Dog ears down & back: good. Cat ears down and back: bad. Dog tail erect and waving from side to side: good. Cat tail erect and waving from side to side: bad. Dog in play bow: good. Cat with arched back: bad. Sounds like you’re learning to read your kitty housemates. Good luck!

    Jed & Abby

    • I think your mama is right! Brudder Ranger is skeered of Cap’n Ripley (uh, but don’t tell him I told you that – PLEEZE!) and so when Cap’n Ripley shouts HBO words, Brudder Ranger acts submissive by putting down his ears and stuff. And, well, that just makes Cap’n Ripley madder!

      Kittesh are Most Mysterious.

  2. Daisy

    If we EVER get a kitty in THIS house, it’s going to learn OUR rules! (I think). I only like the ones that run. If they don’t, they’re pretty useless. That’s about all we know about cats. Thanks for the insight.

    XXXOOO Daisy, Kendra & Bella

  3. Those are very good and accurate lessons, Mayzie. My cats would lick one of us when hell freezes over, however. And maybe not then. They only lick the humans at all, and that’s not really necessary. I mean, I have that totally covered.

    lotsa licks, Lola

  4. Those are pretty funny! We’ve found that kittehs don’t understand the bowing before playing thing so we just chase him – we’ve found this to be most successful because runs away really fast so that must mean he likes it… right?

    Sam and Pippen

  5. For these exact same reasons, Stumpy has banned cats from our residence forever!

  6. Dear Miss Mayzie and Brudder Ranger: We know one thing about cats that you did not mention. STAY AWAY from them. We make lots of noise warning Muzzer about them, and for some reason she get’s upset with us, but we still try.

    kisses
    gussie n teka

  7. Mayzie girlfriend…it is good to know you are a quick study…’cause I, Madi, have a newsflash for you about kittehs. Are you ready…………….
    the rules change daily!!!

    MOL Madi, the Cap’ns true love and one Diva Island Princess Cat.

  8. Heeeheeeee! Very informative post Mayzie!

    Da Kittehs do seems to have their own sets of rules, don’t they? I think da sitting on tables and counters rule is most unfair!

    At least your kittehs just shout HBO words at you when upset…….beware of da Swinging Kitteh Paw! Ouchie

  9. Pip

    Oh Mayzie, this is all so true!! I have always lived with cats and let me tell you, it is a challenge everyday! I am going to be chuckling about this everyday.

    Your pal, Pip

    P.S: Another tip – catnip doesn’t work on dogs. The kitties had a bit of nip this weekend (aided in the filming of Rosie’s video). I thought I would give it try cause they looked they were having so much fun – but it just made me sneeze.

  10. Another 5 things I have learned about them: the five needles attached to the end of their toesies!
    OUCH!

  11. Mayzie these rules happen with our cats too sometimes, Jack LOVES Koda and will rub him and Koda hates it but just tries to move away and looks at you like please please get this kitty away. Sophie always like to jump in and sniff sniff sniff at Jack but then he swats with his big scary paws.

    Miss Blair has lots of bad habits, she is almost has bad as Puddles. She likes to wake people up in the middle of the night to play.

    I hope you can figure out your cats soon!

  12. 1. My kittehs get in troubles for being on the table
    2. I don’t gets it – when I lick kitteh sister Ellie she gets grumpy and then spend hourse licking herself? Is my drool nots good enough for her?
    3. Check out my bloggie today – I play wif Vader.
    4. Um yeah, they needs to learn to move outta the way
    5. This is a good one! But, it’d fun if you breaks this rule.

    And I add rule #6 – Don’t eats the tootsie rolls they leave in the sandy box.

    woof – Tucker

  13. Kristine

    Good things to keep in mind, for sure.

    Our cat isn’t allowed on the table or counter either, although I’m pretty sure he goes up there when we’re not around judging by the orange evidence.

    I love the photo of you and the cat staring each other down in the hallway. So typical it’s funny.

  14. OMG I am laughing so hard, me the mommy over here is just learning about kitties and its CRAZY the diffrence between dogs and cats! I love this!

  15. Hi Mayzie! Heehee! Thats so funny! Kittehs are funny too!! Thanks for sharing!

    licks,
    Ruthie

  16. Cocorue

    hey Mayzie,
    do come over to collect your award

    chikisses
    coco

  17. Pingback: Tweets that mention 5 Things I Have Learned Abouts Kittehs « Mayzie's Dog Blog -- Topsy.com

  18. I don’t really bother with the play bow and all. Just start chasing them, and it’s PLAYTIME!

    & well, if you’re in MY house, you live by MY rules. No kitty’s gonna be on the middle of the bed in MY house.

    Woofs,
    Pepsi

  19. I laughed at this post. Its true though kitty rules MOL.. HUgs GJ x

  20. hello mayzie its dennis the vizsla dog hay importent sayfty tips thanks!!! also kittehs ar poynty in a lot of playses and they hiss like snayks but fortchoonatly ar not poyzonus!!! ok bye

  21. Mayzie, you make us cats seem like bad guys. We just don’t like to be surprised or barked at. There are two doggies here that we love. They just had to learn what our habits are and we had to learn what they liked to do. Some of us even run with the Border collie.
    One of these days, Mayzie, the kitties will play with you maybe if you are really gentle.
    Have a great Turkey week.

  22. I live with two 14 year old kitties. They were not sure about me at first and it took a very long time but I think they now kind of like me! It took lots of accidents on my part because I wasn’t used to kitties. They grew up with a Cocker Spaniel so they were used to him and when he passed on, mom said they were very sad. Then I came here bouncing around as a little pup and they sure didn’t like it at first. Now that I’m older though, things are going smooth. I still don’t like those possums sneaking up in the dark though! Lots of love, Holly and mom (PS: I still can’t get up on the counters like they do and I don’t know why!)

  23. I don’t think our kitty got the message. She jumps on the bed onto the dogs, and she licks them when they lick her! She’s also too fat and lazy to yell HBO words so her favorite form of telling the dogs (Emma really) off is to hold up a paw and place it upon offending dog’s nose. Fortunately, she keeps her claws in!

  24. We’ve got it made, Mayzie! 🙂

  25. Before Mr. Bufus crossed the Bridge, he was a 30lb Maine Coon cat who ruled the entire house with an iron paw. Anything he wanted was his, any time he wanted it (he had no teeth, and yet we have pictures of him with one of my rawhide bones – he took it from me!!!!). And if we got too close? He had a MEAN right hook (he was declawed – a rescue cat, and he came that way) that he would use to ‘thwack’ us across the snooter. He was a million years old (okay, 22) when he left us, and while he and TaiChi (who was also a million years old – okay, 20, but she was a miniature poodle) had an ‘understanding’ he made sure us pups knew who was The Boss (it certainly wasn’t us!). He also made sure there was a healthy distance between us and him. Trust me, we’ve still got a very healthy respect for kittehs!

    *kissey face*
    -Fiona and Abby the Hippobottomus

  26. AC

    Great points Mayzie! Kona wants to add “watch your tail.” She has taken several rump swats by her sister kitty during bouts of serious wiggle bum.

  27. Sam

    Marge has learned quite the same about kittehs! ESPECIALLY the HBO word part. Layla’s always cussin’ at her!

    P.S. – I do hope you’ll blog about your upcoming K9 Freestyle class!

  28. I do find all of those things to be true, plus, sometimes when you walk by they smack you in the face for no reason! At least the ones that live here do!

    Nubbin wiggles,
    Oskar

  29. We are so glad that we don’t have any kitteh’s, Mayzie. They sound like they are very high maintenance!

    Love ya lots
    Maggie and Mitch

  30. I was laughing at some of the comments. Nobody bosses a cat around not even the humans. They are great at bossing doggies around though. I am more afraid of the cats then I am of Mom & Dad. Your list seems spot on to me. I will add an addition. The cats can eat your foods all they want nobody will stop them or yell bad dog er I meant CAT at them, but just try to eat their kibble and all he double hockey sticks breaks out. ~Fenris, who is owned by 3 cats

  31. Those are some great things to learn about cats…I have 4 that live here as well and I agree! 🙂

  32. Doesn’t sound fair to me!

    Hugs,

  33. Teddy Bear

    Great info, Mayzie. Kittehs are cute but I wish they would play with us.:)

  34. The OP Pack

    We don’t think we will ever be allowed to have a kitty, but you convinced us that we are just fine without one, Mayzie:)

    Woos ~ Phantom, Thunder, and Ciara

  35. Thank you for this helpful post! I am mystified by the strangeness of all things feline!

    Bunny

  36. Lorenza

    It sounds to me like… Cats Rule!
    Hmmm….
    We need to do something about it!
    Happy monday!
    Kisses and hugs
    Lorenza

  37. Levi

    Momma is laughing so hard she starting choking on her drink. She used to have kitteh’s and thinks this is all true!
    She tells me one day I am going to find out for myself….ut oh….

  38. The kittehs rule my house, too! Love the gagging/licking/tongue-out kitteh photo!

  39. Good lessons for those of us without kitty siblings. My grandma’s kitties confuse me. I can’t remember if you left a comment on my post this weekend but if you’ve seen it you will understand my confusion. I was taking notes during your lecture. Hope they help me in the future.
    Snuggles,
    Twix

  40. miss mayzie,

    you sure put together a nice informational on kitties. they really are kinda mysterious like. it sounds like they are gettin’ all the perks at your house! i think you and brudder ranger need to fix that!!

    *woof*
    the booker man

  41. LOL! How funny. I can only add one thing: THEY ARE EVIL!!!! It doesn’t matter what I do when I approach them on the street – they hiss at me and try to attack me 😦 My mum took pics of one of those encounters just today. I guess they will be up on the blog soon….

    Slobbers Teal’c

    PS: thanks for the birthday wishes!! xxx

  42. This was sure a most informative post Mayzie. You make many good points. Cats are a real mystery to me, but even more so to Hootie, who has never lived with one. He thinks they are just for chasing! That top photo shows just how snooty felines are…Drinking a sip of wine and then flaunting table privileges at you. The nerve!!
    Smooches from pooches,
    BabyRocketDog & Hootie

  43. Good job Mayzie, these are very important lessons for all doggies to learn. I have heard rumors of cats that actually like to play with dogs. But we haven’t ever had any cats like that at our house.

  44. Oh, I learned early that life is SO Double Standards when it comes to doggies and kitties!!! 😛

    Hey Mayzie – I was so excited when you told me you’re starting doggie dancing!!! So how did the first class go?? I can’t wait to hear all about it! Make sure you get somebody to take pictures – prop the camera machine up and get a self-timer if you have to! (That’s what Hsin-Yi does a lot of the time! Everyone thinks she is mad but she doesn’t care!)

    Speaking of dancing – have you seen my latest post? It;s all about my new Chinese routine which I just performed for the first time last Saturday!

    Slobbers,
    Honey the Great Dane

  45. Seems to me there are just way too many rules about what is OK for a kitty and what is OK for Miss Mayzie. I think those cats are taking over and you should be able to lick the kitty or get on the table whenever you want.

    Slobbers,
    Mango

  46. We don’t have kittehs here, so we’ll have to take your word for it, BUT Taz does some things your kittehs do, too – like getting on the table and keeping everyone else OFF the bed.

    The Road Dogs

Leave Me a Pawment!

