Adopt-a-Less-Adoptable Pet Week

Okay, as we all know, this is a big week cuz it’s National Dog Week. But did you know it’s also Adopt-a-Less-Adoptable Pet Week?

Yep, that’s right! BlogPaws and Petfinder have linked up and decided that it would just be super great to try to shine the spotlight on doggies and kittehs who have a harder time finding homes. You know – the ones that are more “mature,” or have a handicap, or look a certain way.

You know, pets like me!

Now, I know you’re prolly thinking that’s the ker-aziest thing you ever heard. Considering, well, I’m sort of Most Adorable.

But the truth of the matter is that lots of peoples are skeered of doggies that look like me. And not only that, but when I first got rescued, I was super afraid of lots of stuff. And peoples want to adopt doggies who are pawfectly happy and well-adjusted. So prolly if my mom and dad hadn’t come along when they did, I mighta had a real hard time finding my Most Perfect Home That Ever Was.

And that’s the way it is for my furend, Chloe.

Chloe is being taken care of by the rescue that rescued me – Second Chance Animal Rescue Foundation.

The best they can figure out, Chloe is a greyhound/American Staffordshire Terrier. It’s kinda funny cuz when you look at her body, she sure looks like a greyhound. But when you look at her face, she sure looks like an AmStaff.

Now, me and mom thinks she’s got the Most Beautifulest face. But we have a feeling that when peoples look at Chloe, they don’t see how sweet she is or how smart she is or how she’s really good at playing frisbee. They don’t see that she’s a good girl with great house manners who’s housetrained and crate trained. They don’t see how much spunk she has, or that she luvs to play and explore. And they don’t see how she luvs peoples and dogs and even kittehs!

No, when they look at Chloe, all they see is that somebuddy at some point cut off her poor little ears.

And when they did that, it made her look intimidating and skeery to some peoples. And cuz of that – that one little thing that she can’t help – she hasn’t been able to find anybuddy to gives her the furever home she deserves.

It doesn’t make any sense to me, cuz all peoples have to do is look past her ears and look into her eyes to know that giving Chloe a home is prolly the best thing they could ever, ever do.

If you’re interested in adopting Chloe – or know somebuddy who is – please click here to contact Second Chance Animal Rescue. Or you can call 719-931-0006 or email delliott AT mindspring DOT com.

Thanks for reading all abouts Chloe. And if you know about a Less-Adoptable-Pet, be sure and join in this Most Terrific effort by clicking here and reading more about it. I just know there’s a furever home out there for every pet. And together we can help them find it!

35 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

35 responses to “Adopt-a-Less-Adoptable Pet Week

  1. Chloe is just beautiful! Our paws are crossed that she gets the bestest home ever!

    Love ya lots
    Maggie and Mitch

  2. When I look at Chloe, I see BEAUTY! What a face, and those eyes are just gorgeous! I hope she finds a home very soon. The best picture is her sitting there with a cat winding around her. Yeah, she’s a mean, old pittie!

  3. We think Chloe is so beautiful! She deserves a GREAT home!

  4. I hope Chloe finds her Most Perfect Forever Home really soon. You can tell just looking at her that she could make some lucky humans very happy.

    lotsa licks, Lola

  5. Mayzie May, that is such a great post about Chloe. We think she is a very sweet looking dog and look, she even likes cats. That is a big plus in our house. We sure hope that Chloe finds a wonderful home. She deserves it.
    Have a great day.

  6. Oh Mayzie…mom and I cannot ever in our wildest dreams imagine how it must be to be judged before anyone even gets to know you. We just love your little face. Poor sweet Chloe…she is beautiful ..why in the world would someone cut her precious ears….that made mom tear up….

    We hope Chloe finds a furever home soon.
    Hugs Madi

  7. Mayzie, we think Chloe is adorable. We hope she finds her forever home real soon.
    Love Ruby & Penny

  8. Chloe is such a gorgeous pup! Thank you for posting her darling pictures along with this great post. I hope she finds her forever home very soon!

  9. Chloe is soooooo pretty – my first big dog was named Chloe. I hope that she finds her forever home soon – keep us posted if she does find a home please 🙂

  10. frankie furter

    Oh Mayzie I hope she finds that perfect home.. sooooooon.
    You certainly found yours!!! Your peeps KNOW how lucky they are to have you. AND… so are WE.

  11. I often times get mistaken as a greyhound myself.
    I has to say Aaaaaaaaaaack…bout Chloe…she is beautifuls!
    Just looks at her sweet little face. I hopes her can find a furever home jusdt likes you did Mayzie…is it even possible furs a doggie to find a perfect home like you has?
    I’m thinking dat her cropped ears was a home job.

    Puddles

  12. What horrid humans to cut poor Chloe’s ears! That makes us very angry. Great post Mayzie. Chloe is adorable and it is so wrong that any dog should be prejudged.
    love
    Martha and Bailey xxx

  13. What a wonderful post, Mayzie! You do makes my momma stop and thinks (surprising, huh)

    It really difficult to beleeve anyones would think you unadoptable….and Miss Chloe sounds just about pawfect!

    My momma always gets very much sad when her reads about da black dog syndrome. Apparently Black Dogs dont gets adopted nearly as often as da other dogs. It so sad.

    You gets a ‘Good Dog!’ again today fur a wonderful post.

    MinnaK

  14. miss mayzie,
    oh, this is just a grrreat post! i can’t even wrap all my little grey cells around the fact that some hoomans thought you were “less adoptable”?! you are the most beautimous vision of brindle furs that evarrr was! i’m so so glad your mama and daddy came along and rescued you and took you to your super awesome forevarrr home.
    me and asa and mama thank you bunches ‘n tons for sharing about miss chloe. mama often wishes that she and daddy could buy a hooge piece of land so that they could give lovins to more doggies. she would bring miss chloe home in a heartbeat if she could!

    *woof*
    the booker man

  15. daisydog

    She is the most beautiful! We hope she finds a home soon!

  16. You are wonderful to spread the word about Chloe! She is most beautiful. If we didn’t have a full house already I think mom my try to bring her home.

    Wags!

    Mr. Nubbin’

  17. phoerauf

    This post made us cry. We would be honored if you would let us use it as a guest post on Pet Blogs United. It would be your post written by & all credit given to you. Let us know at pbu(at)comcast(dot)net

    You & Chloe are both beautiful girls Mayzie, both inside and out.

    Nubbin wiggles & hugs,

    Oskar & Pam

  18. We are purring really hard that Chloe finds a home. She has the sweetest eyes, we just know that whoever gives her a home will be really lucky.

  19. Oh Mayzie this post made our mom leaky because she is so sad that people can’t get past poor Chloe’s ears to see her super adorable face! We think it stinks that someone was mean to her like that and that she is still suffering from it by not getting a good home! WE are purring and praying for her to find her perfect forever home soon!

    Oh, and we have to assume that when you said people won’t adopt pets that look a certain way, and used yourself as an example, that you meant that they look a way that is so cute that they will outshine the humans who adopt them – so they are just intimidated by all the beautiful cuteness! Because when we look at you we see beautiful cuteness – so that is the only thing you could have meant!

  20. We all know that it is what is inside that counts the most even though we think Chloe has a very beautiful face. We hope she finds a good and loving forever home.

    Woos ~ Phantom, Thunder, and ciara

  21. I’mway adglay ouyay oundfay away oodgay omehay Ayziemay & Iway
    opehay Oechlay oesday ootay.

  22. thank you for sharing mayzie~!!!!

    xo,
    luna

  23. Pardon me for a moment while I laugh about Puddles being mistaken for a Greyhound! *falls over laughing and holding tummy* Okay, I’m good now! I think Chloe is almost as cute as you. I sure hope she finds her home soon!

    Bunny

  24. Chloe IS beautiful… Those eyes tell how sweet she is. MUCH sweeter than we are cause we don’t tolerate C-A-T-S… course, we’ve never really gotten a chance to know any but the feral ones people drop off around here and they’d scratch your eyes out if you got close enough! Grammy said a prayer for her that she would find a wonderful forever home like you did! The CCC

  25. What a pawesome post!

    Chloe has eyes that say love me please – I already love woo!

    Hugz&Khysses,
    Khyra

  26. Yes!
    Chloe is adorable!
    I really hope she will find a lovely family soon!
    Take care
    Kisses and hugs
    Lorenza

  27. It’s so crazy how many of these amazing dogs get overlooked. I heard it’s really hard to have dogs with cropped ears adopted out, but it’s so great to see her featured here. Great idea to spread the word.

  28. Oops, somehow Mom’s name replaced Jackie’s in our comment – well, she definitely sends her luvs too, to Chloe and to you, Miss Mayzie!

    Luvs,

    Dillon

    • Oops, again, our original comment disappearededed! I will start again!

      Hello, Miss Mayzie, Dillon here! Boy, I sure identify with Miss Chloe. Looks like she had some hard times before she was rescued, like I did. I was at the Humane Society for a long time before I came to my own furever home. But the lady at the H.S. gave me such a great recommendation when Mom called there (just like you’re doing for Miss Chloe!) that Mom knew I was supposed to come home with her, even though I was a bit funny looking with my big head and my scars, and my gimpy hip and my funny toe. So, I know there is a wonderful Mom or Dad or family out there just waiting for lovely Miss Chloe to come live with them and make their lives better as only she can do! Give her our luvs, and tell her we are praying for her very own family to take her home really soon!

      Luvs and encouraging wags,

      Dillon & Jackie

  29. Is this Chloe that was at the Humane Society and featured (or mentioned) in the paper for three weeks? If so, Jim and I had several serious “should we or shouldn’t we” discussions about Chloe. Considering Mickey and Lyla, we decided on the latter, but have wondered what happened with Chloe. I’m crossing my fingers for the sweet girl.

  30. Teddy Bear

    Mayzie, you are adorable and so is Chloe. We’re keeping our paws crossed that she finds a furever home soon.:)

    Love,
    Teddy Bear

  31. Teddy Bear

    Mayzie, you’re adorable and so is Chloe. We’re keeping our paws crossed that she finds a furever home soon.:)

    Love,
    Teddy Bear

  32. She is most beautiful. I wish we could have a car sent across the country and bring her home to me and my sisters. But I have my paws crossed that her forever family is right around the corner!!

    Wags,
    Zona

  33. Such a wonderful post 🙂 We hope all animals find homes

    Kari
    http://dogisgodinreverse.com/

  34. Pingback: Adopt-a-Less-Adoptable Pet Week « Little Miss Jackie

Leave Me a Pawment!

