What I Did on My Summer Vacation – THE FINALE

Whew! It’s Friday! And guess what that means? That means it’s the last day of my vacation slide show!

Now, our last whole day there was a really special day. And it’s a day I’ll never, ever furget for sure!

Okay, so Uncle C and Auntie K decided that they really wanted to go to Telluride. So we parted ways for the day and while they went to hobnob with the rich doggies, me and mom and dad and Brudder Ranger all drove to this place called the Black Canyon of the Gunnison National Park.

Now most national parks aren’t just amazingly dog furendly. I know. Crazy, huh? But there were a couple of trails they let us go on and we could also go on the scenic overlooks. And they were all quite a ways off the road so we got LOTS of walking in.

While you’re looking at the pictures, just keep in your brain that this whole thing was made by something called the Gunnison River! Yep! Water carved out this whole canyon and THAT’S why I stay far away from it.

Okay, for the most part, I’m just gonna lets the pictures do the talking. (You can click to biggify most of them.) I hopes you like them.

Can you see me? I'm camouflaged!

I don't think we should go this way, mom.

See that cliff on the right? It's called Painted Rock and it's the tallest cliff in Collie-rado. If you puts the Empire State Building in the bottom of the canyon, it would only reach halfway up!

By the way, dad, what's an Empire State Building?

I took this picture. I did a good job, huh? (Noooo...I'm just kidding with you!)

Okay, so I hope you liked looking at all the beautimousness that is in the Black Canyon of the Gunnison. But all this stuff wasn’t even the BEST part! You know what the best part was?

That’s a guy named Chip! I’m pretty sure he’s related to Jenny Pigg. I asked him if he wanted to come home with me. But he said no. I don’t know why.

THE END.

29 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

29 responses to “What I Did on My Summer Vacation – THE FINALE

  1. Wowsy kapowsy! You got to see some amazing things on your summer vacation. Those views were good, too. I’m sorry that your quest to bring home someone small and furry is still being frustrated. You keep trying, though. If at first you don’t succeed and all that.

    lotsa licks, Lola

  2. OMC!!! Mayzie what a wonderful time was had by all!!! We were NOT bored for one second!!! Mom told me when my Uncle G (dad’s bro) went to Egypt he came back with enough pictures to reach the top of the Black Canyon of the Gunnison….and he had verbal commentary to go with each and every one of them…we had not clue one could talk about a pyramid for that long…MOL

    Mom here: You all live in a very very beautiful state. We have hopes of trekking out your way to take some of the scenic railroad trips….my hubby is a train brain!!!
    Hugs and Happy Friday
    Madi and Mom

  3. Pip

    WOW, this looks like a beautiful place!!! You blend in with the scenery in many of these pictures with your pretty coloring. You were making me nervous getting so close to the edges of those cliffs!

    Your pal, Pip

  4. Wowser! Pawsome pikturs…..it reminded my momma of da movie Butch Cassidy and da Sundance Kid!

    Still no Collies, though. Huh! Collie-rado is definitely not what I expected

    MinnaK

  5. We think it would be total awesome fun to run up and down those hills into the canyon!

    Sam and Pippen

  6. Ohhhhh Miss Mayzie thhose photys made Ma go all wierdy as she don’t like heights at all butts I finks it looks a stew-pen-duss place to visit and yu looks like yu all had much fun times

    Luv
    Richie

  7. Another amazing place to visit!!! We are impressed with your climbing skills – you had some big rocks to maneuver there. And too bad little Chip ran away – he was a cutie.

    Have a great weekend.

    Woos ~ Phantom, Thunder, and Ciara

  8. Shady

    What amazing photos, and a very fitting “end”. Welcome Home.

    Shady

  9. Looks like you had a wonderful. You were super brave to look over the edge like that!

    Wags!

    Mr. Nubbin’

  10. WOwsa – that is high – good thing you aren’t scared of heights! OUr National Park is super dog friendly. I canz go everywhere but the beach. I guess sunbathers don’t want me kicking sand up on them or somethin’. What a fall vacation you had!

    woof – Tucker

  11. Incredible scenery! Wonderful holiday!
    Sending lotsaluv
    MAXMOM IN SOUTH AFRICA

  12. What a wonderful hike you had Mayzie! That’s a loooooooonng way down!

  13. That little river made that big hole in the ground? Inconceivable!

  14. A most excellent vacation.

  15. Mayzie
    Well, you had a great vacation. Seeing how my mom grew up in Colorado, she has been there too and says it is really pretty. Glad you all had fun and BTW< you take a great picture of your mom and dad Mayzie!!

    wags
    Jazzi

  16. Hey did you knows I had Chip’s cuzzin furs breakfast da other day? Yep, sure as da moon.
    Nows bout dis place you went toos…I knew water wasn’t a good thing and you just showed me proofs. Soooo, could you just imagine what it couls possibly do to us???
    Ummmmm, was you not skeered bout being so high up? I kinda gots a little tummy roll just looking….or was ir from da beer last night? Oh well, at least you is home safe and sound nows.

    Puddles

  17. Wow, that does look so pretty. It’s nice that they allow dogs to hike also, but I can’t believe you got so close to the edge. That just makes me nervous.

  18. Mayzie please tell Mom that she can 100% count on a visit from Mom and Dad if/when they travel to Collie-rado one day. Of course, I, Madi will not be with them but I will be sure my lovely lady cat fragrance is somewhere on them for Cap’n Ripley’s enjoyment….MOL
    Madi

  19. Graciousness, Miss Mayzie, how brave you are to look over those great big edges! Mom felt a bit woozy thinking about it! What a lot of neat things to see and places to explore (especially that hole in the rocks Brudder Ranger is inspecting, that looks like my kinda place!) Glad you had a great time and got home safe!

    Barks and Wiggles,

    Jackie

  20. Wow, looks like you saw a lot of cool things. Beautiful from way up there.

  21. Now that looks like one amazing place! I wish that I could go hiking someplace like that! You live the life, Mayzie and Ranger! Morgan and I wish we’d been with you.

    You better warn Chip not to buy any Avon products from Puddles! I saw what happened to the chipmunk at her house, and it wasn’t pretty!

    Bunny

  22. APPLAUSE!!!!!!

    Or is that

    APPPAWS?????

    Furry nice pikhs!

    Thanks fur sharing!

    Hugz&Khysses,
    Khyra

  23. What incredible pictures and what a fabulous vacation you had, Mayzie! Thank you for sharing it with us!

    Love ya lots
    Maggie and Mitch

  24. Teddy Bear

    Wow, Mayzie, it looks like you had a pawesome vacation. Love all the photos!:)

    Love,
    Teddy Bear

  25. Wowza! That sure is a beautiful place! I guess you’re not scared of heights!

    Wags,
    Zona

  26. we might need to take our next vacation there!

    Kari
    http://dogisgodinreverse.com/

  27. Oh Mayzie, those pictures were the best. Love the ones of the humans. But some of those places looked really scary. Glad you didn’t go past the Danger sign. Thanks for all those great pictures etc. of your vacation. We really enjoyed it. Have a great weekend.

  28. Hi, Mayzie!
    Yes! You all chose a pawesome place to go for walkies!
    It looks beautiful!
    Sorry the little one did not want to come home with you!
    Kisses and hugs
    Lorenza

  29. It is most humbling to see what nature can do. Hard to believe that used to be a river. It sure was deep.

    Slobbers,
    Mango

Leave Me a Pawment!

