We’re back!

Hi everybuddy! Oh, gosh! I missed you gobs and oodles! Did you miss me?

We just got back from our big vacation and we had a super terrific time. Poor mom brought back the snifflys and sneezies with her, though. She says that it’s “proof pawsitive” that she’s allergic to work!

So, I’m gonna break up our vacation into a few different posties cuz, well, I don’t want you to fall asleep. Haha! But before we gets started, I wanted to tell you thank you to everybuddy who came over and left comments on my posties while we were gone. ‘specially mom’s postie on Monday. That really meant a lot to her.

Okay, on to vacation!

Remember how I told you abouts my condo?

I luvs my condo.

Well, I really have two of ’em. One in the bedroom and one in dad’s office so I can sleep the day away while he works I can help him work. Well, when we go on vacations, we take both condos for me and Brudder Ranger to sleep in. Well, I wasn’t so sure about this at first.

This is my condo bed but without my condo. What's going on here?

Oh, well. Guess I'll just make the best of it.

But then mom and dad FINALLY got everything all loaded up and we were on our way! It was all so exciting at first. But then we just kept driving…and driving…and driving…

Are we there yet?

After about 16 days 6 hours we gots to our destination! After a good night’s rest (in my condo), we decided to explore the town of Ridgway, Collie-rado.

This way, dad!

We found this neat old fire station place that is now a place where peoples make art!

And parked out front was this really cool old fire truck…

See the building behind the fire truck? That’s a restaurant called “The True Grit Cafe.” They call it that cuz this ancient movie called “True Grit” was made in and around Ridgway. They also made another movie called “How the West Was Won” here but I didn’t see a “How the West Was Won Cafe.”

There’s also a lot of water that runs through Ridgway. I thought maybe there was some broken plumbing around somewhere and maybe we oughta notify somebuddy abouts this. But mom said they WANTED it that way and the peoples that live there even named all that water the Uncompahgre River. (I think “Uncompahgre” means “Broken Plumbing.”)

Broken Plumbing River

And then, if you can believe it, mom and dad came up with the CRAZY idea of walking next to all that water. Me and Brudder Ranger were pretty sure they’d lost their minds. But we agreed to humor them, for at least a little bit.

There. We put our toes in the water. Happy now?

But me and Brudder Ranger had to admit, there were some interesting smells around there.

This sediment has a most delightful bouquet. Don't you agree, Mayzie?

Luckily, there was a bridge nearby and we talked mom and dad into looking at the Broken Plumbing River from a much more safer (and drier) place.

Ah, yes! MUCH better!

I agree. The aesthetics are undoubtedly easier to appreciate from this vantage point.

Well, we were all good and tired by the end of that first day. But can you believe it? The fun wasn’t over! Wait til you see what we got to do next!

PeeS. I had a few hundred posties in my Google reader dealie so we had to do the dreaded “Mark all as read” thing. So please, pretty please, if I missed anything impawtant while we were gone, let me know in the comments or by sending me an email at mayziegal AT gmail DOT com. K-thanks!

30 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

30 responses to “We’re back!

  1. Welcome back Mayzie and family! That first installment of your vacation looks pretty pawsome. I can’t wait to see what comes next.

    lotsa licks, Lola

  2. Daisy

    Glad you’re back. Looks like you had an awesome holiday!

    XXXOOO Daisy, Kendra & Bella

  3. Welcome back Mayzie!!! I am sooo happy dat you had a good time on your vacations. 🙂

    Woofs and Licks,
    Maggie Mae

  4. OH Happy Days Mayzie is back!!! Whoopee we are so glad to hear from you.
    When we heard about the fires out your way we were hoping and praying you were all very very safe where ever you were.
    Great pictures too we are so sorry Mom has the sniffles…several folks around our city are complaining of the same thing. Mom is battling allergies with an itchy nose and watering eyes. Thank goodness for Benadryl.

    WHAT a beautiful post on Saturday. Mom loves the Clydesdales….

    Oh Mayzie… please tell Cap’n Ripley…according to our Whimsical Calendar,Sunday September 19, is talk like a Pirate day.. Mom and I were going to try to post that but we really have no command of Piratese like my Cap’n!!!

    Feel better Mom.
    Madi and Mom

  5. We missed you oodles too! (we save the gobs for something else…) Why don’t you like walking by the waters? That’s where all the bestest stinky stuff resides!

    Sam and Pippen

  6. I be so glad yu are back Miss Mayzie I did miss yu lots. Yowee that be a big river I could sail on that it shore looks like yu be havin a great vacation tho and I reely like yor condo too.

    Luvs
    Richie

  7. Shady

    Welcome Back! Hoppe your Mom feels better soon.

    Shady

  8. Mayzie – Welcome back! What an excellent place to vacation! We would love that river. And Mom would love that firehouse with the art. She loves all that artsy fartsy stuff. We prefer the hiking places and the food places. Looks like we’re in for some awesome adventures from you!
    The Road Dogs

  9. sagechronicles

    That looks like a really fun vacation–and you got to go. When my Mom & Dad go away next month, we have to stay home…….

  10. Hooooooray! You is finally home safe and sound…course, if yu had gotten any closer to dat waters then you prolly wouldn’t haves gotten home all safes…thank goodness your brindle hairs are still intact.
    My goodness, I guess you’ve heard bout Lucy’s new job selling Avon…bwhahahahaha!
    So glad you is home back in Blogville, I missed you so muuuuuuuuch! Can’t wait to see da next installment from your trip.

    Puddles

  11. Welcome back, Mayzie and Brudder Ranger – we missed you. But it sure looks like you had lots of fun – what a great place you visited.

    Life has been pretty slow around here, so you didn’t miss much on our end. Tell Mom we hope she feels better soon.

    Woos ~ Phantom, Thunder, and Ciara

  12. YES! We missed you so much Miss Mayzie – we are so glad you are back! Looks like you had an awesome time.

  13. What a fun vacation!! We can’t wait to read more!!

    Smileys & Snuggles!
    Dory, Bilbo and Jacob

  14. Pip

    So glad you are back! Looks like you had a great vacation! I actually really like the water, but it seems like lots of other doggies don’t.

    Your pal, Pip

    P.S.: My mom is allergic to work, too!

  15. We are so glad you are back. We really did miss you a lot. Wow, that was a very long drive, 16 days. Glad you made it in 6 hours. Love the name of that river. And you did put a toe in that water, so you are making great progress Mayzie. We love all the pictures. Can’t wait for the next chapter. Have a great day.

  16. frankie furter

    Yeah!!! Home safe and sound… Now about that AVON stuffs. I do NOT Recommend it. I’m just sayin’
    I been worried about you claws of the Fires out there. You being OK with that stuff????
    LOVE the vacation pictures. I wish I could have been with you and Brudder R..

  17. Mayzie! I am sooo glad you had such a fun vacation! I can’t wait to hear more about it!

    Oh and Momma was so excited to hear that your momma is an OU Fan!! Yesssssss! Sooner fans are the best! Momma and Daddy are going to the game against Air Force next week. I hope we play as well as we did this last weekend!

    xoxox
    Pearl

  18. Oh yes, the read all happens to all of us sometimes! I’m so glad you had a fantastical time! I’ll be on the edge of my seat until the next post! I love seeing all of your walkies. That fire house was pretty pawsome!

    We missed you!

    Wags,
    Zona

  19. Welcome home! What a great adventure you had. Can’t wait for the next installment.

    Slobbers,
    Mango

    P.S. Check out my bloggy if you get a chance because I am running an “I wanna be like Mango contest” and you would do great in it I just know.

  20. oh wow that place sure looks fun! Can’t wait to read the rest!

    -Kari
    http://dogisgodinreverse.com/

  21. How cool. Looks like you had a most pawsome adventure!

  22. What fun times fur woo!!!

    Thanks fur sharing –

    I khan’t wait to see more!!!

    Hugz&Khysses,
    Khyra

  23. We’re so glad to see you back, Mayzie! I would really like to see that Collie-rado place where you live. I just know there would be some great places to take walks and stretch my legs!

    Um, if anybody from Avon (probably a donkey, goat or long skinny dog) tries to sell you some butt cream, well, cream of any kind, do NOT buy any! The make up’s alright, but those creams need a little more testing from what I hear!

    Bunny

  24. Mayzie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Welcome homes to BlogLand~ Gosh we have missed you, even though I enjoyed your post re-runs!~

    MinnaK

    PeeS…..don’ts believe everything you hear about my sissie Lucy and her Avon products…heeheee.

  25. Hi, Mayzie!
    I missed you too!
    I loved reading this first part of your big vacation!
    Kisses and hugs
    Lorenza

  26. Glad to see you back! I love how you all went on the vacation.

  27. hey WELCOME back you guys!!
    Looks like a fun trip and you all had lots of fun and lots of smells. Arent you glad that you are home again and back to your condo?? Colorado is a cool place to vist, my mom was raised in Denver!!

    wags
    Jazzi

  28. Nice to see you back again, Mayzie. Looks like you had a lot of fun, and that’s always a good thing on a vacation! We LOVE going to places like your river, and always go in for a bit. Was it to cold for you to go swimming? We can’t wait to hear more! The CCC

  29. A very belated Welcome Home Mayzie and family. It is great to have a holiday but always nice to come home.
    We have enjoyed seeing the great pics – even if it was in a backwards order!
    xxx

Leave Me a Pawment!

