What I did on Saturday

Okay, most of you know that I was at the pawty. But what you didn’t know was that I sneaked away for just a little bits cuz I had a previous commitment.

See, the place where I go to school asked me if I wanted to come do a Rally demo for a thing they hold every year in honor of International Homeless Animals Day. It’s called Romp in the Park. (But the crazy thing is that they hold it in this big, HUGE barn-type of building – not a park at all.)

Anyways, I was kinda not sure cuz I was afraid I would gets stage fright. And sometimes places that are new with lots of activity skeer me pretty good still. But I figured it was awfully nice of them to ask so I thought I would gives it a try.

(Oh, and I have to say I’m sorry for the lack of pictures. Mom took the flashy beast but there was so much going on that she didn’t gets a chance to take hardly any at all. She was way too busy paying attention to me.)

Anyways, when we got there, there was lots of peoples and doggies and there was this thing that mom called a Pee-Ay system that was screaming at me. (I think they call it that cuz it skeers the pee outta you.) I asked mom if she had broughts any beer with her to calm my nerves but can you believe it? She didn’t have a single one on her! So I just had to dive right in without any liquid courage at all.

Oh, gosh, it was pretty nerve-wracking cuz there was lots of stuffs I had never seen before in my whole life. But I was real happy when I saw my teacher, Julie. And I told her I was nervous and she said that the demo had gotten pushed back about half an hour and that I didn’t HAVE to do it but why didn’t I just hang out and see if I could calm my nerves. I said that would be fine but wondered if maybe SHE had any beer. She didn’t. (Seriously, sometimes humans can be a teensy bit disappointing in this regard.)

We sat down but I was feeling antsy. So me and mom walked around for a little bit. And I saw these plastic pink flamingo birdies stuck in the ground and I bopped ’em with my nosie and made ’em move and I thought that was funny. And then I said hi to some other doggies and let some peoples pet me and mom kept feeding me chicken from this place called Chick-Phil-Ay. And well, I started to feel a lot better and decided to just lay down and take in the sights and “eat mor chicken” (haha). Mom thought this would be a good time to takes a coupla pictures but most unfortunately, they’re not the bestest.

What's that over there?

Did you see THAT?

More chicken, please.

Anyways, after abouts a day and a half an hour we found out that they had to CANCEL the Rally demo cuz they were running short on time. I think mom felt bad cuz she made me sit up there all that time and she was worried that she had traumatized me or something. But I told her that it was okay. That I had a pretty good time after all and while we were walking out, I did a lot of investigating and sniffing and I liked that a LOT. But she still seemed kinda worried so I told her if she wanted to make it up to me, she could take me to PetCo the next day.

And she DID! And while we were there, I saw one of these!

It’s called a Jenny Pig and I liked it almost as much as the chin-chilly-ah I saw at PetSmart. And the most ironic thing is that I have ALWAYS wanted a pig named Jenny! No, really, I have! But mom said no matter how bad she felt, she wasn’t going to get me one.

Seriously…the woman can be SO unreasonable sometimes!

Note from Unreasonable Mom: I wish I had the words to describe how proud I am of Mayzie. Six months ago, I never would have dreamed of even trying to take her to something like Romp in the Park. But she has come so far and it seems that every day, she does something to surprise and amaze me.ย  She constantly inspires me with her willingness to trust, to try, and to never, ever give up. I am so blessed to have her in my life.

42 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

42 responses to “What I did on Saturday

  1. Hi There Mayzie’s Mum and Mayzie

    Knew you were up to something, Bonny said she last saw you at the bar (before she erm ran off with stripaw).

    Anyways, it is so great to hear of a dog rescue and one that went well too. Mayzie is the luckiest girl ever, and her peeps should be proud. As should anyone who rescues a dog and turns their life joyful.

    At the risk of sounding patronising, WELL DONE!!!

    Hector
    xx

  2. Aw, Mayzie, your Mom made my Mom all leaky. Humans spring those leaks so easily. At least the little ones and Moms do. Anyway, I think it was probably a great thing for you go out there and just get to sniffestigate and take it all in. Why not? If getting used to new places and crazy activity is an issue, it was an opportunity to do that.

    I love the picture where you’re looking up at Mom, inquiring about the chicken. You are so cute!

    lotsa licks, Lola

  3. Pip

    That’s so great that you are giving back to help other animals! I know we have talked about it before, but I am also a rescue dog with a not so nice past …Sounds like we have both come a long way!!

    Your pal, Pip

  4. Mayzie and Mom…We think you guys did WONDERFUL. Congratulations

    gussie and his muzzer

  5. Mayzie,
    Madi and I are nearly as proud of you as your Mom…but we are also very proud of your Mom. Pets feed off their humans emotions and reactions your Mom and Dad have done such an excellent job of showing you TLC thus giving you all the confidence a beautiful lady like yourself needs to shine!!!

    Congrats to the entire family for a job well done.
    Madi and Mom

  6. Barb

    Oh Mayzie, you are SO lucky you got chicken from “Chick-Phil-Ay”!! I love that place ~ YUM ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. You’re a star, Mayzie! A stellar example of how a rescued dog can turn their lives around (with the help of awesome beans) and help other animals in need! We’re so proud of you and your mum!

  8. Awww! Good job, Mayzie!! No wonder your mom is so proud of you!

  9. Maizie Mae, we are very proud of you too for going to that event. It is such a good thing for you to get used to doing. And your Mom did a super job of helping to keep you calm. Those things are nerve wracking with lots of other dogs and people and noise. You should get the blue ribbon just for getting through it all without even one beer.
    Have a great day.

  10. Cupcake

    I am so proud of you! I’m so glad you had a good time. Your Mom loves you so much and she is such a caring person to make sure you were okay every minute of the day.
    I saw a Jenny Pig at the big dog store too!! I love them. I would love to chase one around all day long. My mom said ‘no’ too but I don’t know why.

    Love, Cupcake

  11. Minna Krebs

    Mayzie da Wonderdog!!!

    Dat should be your new name! We are all proud of your beautiful self…and your mom too (cept for her and da No Jenny thing)

    MinnaK

    PeeS….I could barely get thru da post cuz I be laughing so hard at what da PA system means!! BOL!!

  12. Shady

    Great job Mayzie, and congrats on 3 days “sober” hee hee

    Shady

  13. frankie furter

    Oh Mayzie… I’m givin you TWO Paws UP for this one. I am soooo proud of how far you have come and how much you have learned. NOW>. if yo could just teach that mom of yours… goood stuffs require good rewards.. I think you REALLY deserve that Jenny Pig!!! I’m just sayin’.

  14. Mayzie you are amazing but then again so is your mom! Sometimes you know it’s like the horse and carriage song – they just go together!
    You are very good doing what you can to help homeless dogs – we rescue dogs know how very lucky we are!
    If only we could get a great home for every single doggie in the world – wouldn’t that be great.
    love you lots
    Martha and Bailey xxx

  15. You are one brave girl, Mayzie!

  16. Way to go Mayzie. Sorry you didn’t get a Jenny Pig. I would like to have one of those too!

    Wyatt

  17. You forgot the part about going to starbucks and getting loved on by my mom and favoritest aunt Jaime! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Way to go Mayzie! You rock!

    Wags!

    Mr. Nubbin’

  18. Mayzie, even though you didn’t get to do the rally, it sounds like you did a great job there! We are super proud of how brave you were – we know we couldn’t ever do that! And we pictured you with the flamingos – it sounds so funny – we like flamingos a lot (well, the plastic ones – we never met a real one!)

    And that is so funny about the Jenny Pigs – it is too bad that you didn’t get one, but we are curious – are the boys named Jenny too – and do you think if you get more than one it gets confusing? Oh well, it is a cutie! And you are a cutie too!

  19. Mayzie please tell my Cap’n he has once again made this Maiden Madi’s heart skip a beat with his sugar sweetened words…..sighhhhhhhhhhhhh!!!
    Madi

  20. littlemissjackie

    Wow, Mayzie, you did so great to go to the Romp in the Park with all that stuff going on! I know it would be too stressful for me! You were very brave, and your mom has done such a good job helping you!

    Barks and Wiggles,

    Jackie

  21. I am happy to hear how well Mayzie is working out for you. Now kindly get her a chinchilla or something small she can name Jenny to make her happy.
    Twinkie, an ambassador of good will (BOL)

  22. Those Elgin Pugs

    Mayzie Girl!!! Yous getting all ready for yous big speechs and w/o da liquid courage… ‘den it got x… okay… don’t panics…. mommy must get yous a
    Jenny Piggy!!!! It’s a MUST!!!!
    SNORTS!!!

    Loves,
    IzZY, Josie and Anakin Man

  23. Too bad about the rally but it sounds like you not only did great but had a good time too. Mom SHOULD be proud of you and of herself. Congrats to all. And thanks for letting Ciara have so much fun at the pawty – she hasn’t stopped wooing about it since she got home. You all did a great job with the presentation of all the fun.

    Woos ~ Phantom, Thunder, and Ciara

  24. AC

    Thanks for visiting us! I love meeting other bloggers who are working with their fearful/turning brave pups. It’s always encouraging to hear progress stories (and Mayzie sounds like she did amazing on this outing!) and learn new training techniques.

    I also just recently heard about BAT and was wondering if I could figure out a way to use it with Kona. From the little I know about it, I’m not sure it’s the best approach for us (Kona’s fear response is flight-she’s not reactive), but I need to learn more. I’d be interested in hearing how it works out for you and Mayzie! Keep up the good work!!

  25. I can’t believe you went and put up with all that waiting and then your mom didn’t take you straight to Petsmart to get a chin-chilly-ah! Honestly! I’m going to hunt for Mom’s magic plastic tonight and see if I can find one on ebay or something. If I find a good deal, I’ll try to mail you one!

    Bunny

  26. Hang on……

    Okays, I hads to go get me tissue to wipe my eyes and blow my nose.

    Mayzie, I haves nevers been so proud of you (unless you count da time you drank dat whole keg) fur having da courage and trust you haves gained. You are truely an amazing, inspirational girl. You amaze me all da time when you do sumptin knew. I am so happy dat you founds your pawrents cuz they have lets you experience some of da most special things in life…like love and courage, trust, and faith.
    I am so proud of you Mayzie, my BFF!
    I sends you Jenny…now where is dat wallet?

    Puddles

  27. Dear Mayzie’s Mom –

    I SOOOOO know THAT feeling!

    Hugz&Khysses,
    Khyra’s Mom

  28. Miss Kylie

    Nice Job Mayzie! I was a scaredy puppy too and Mommy has been working with me for almost 3 years! Now I can even walk around the Lowes store without getting too scared!!

    Donโ€™t forget to hop on over to my blog for the Give-A-Way! You could win a custom made dog collar just for YOU! You even get to pick the fabric and style. All you have to do is leave me a comment and get an extra entry by also telling me what your favorite fabric is or by posting about it on your bloggie! Itโ€™s that easy peasy for 3 chances to win!! I hope you will play with me!! Good luck!

    Licks,
    Kylie

  29. Thanks for the polite and sweet comment on Dear Twinkie today. Every week I have trouble with one question and that’s the one that gets the lame answer. Guess who it was this week? Yup yup Mayzie Gal ๐Ÿ™‚ You feel free to stop tweeting any time you like now, kk?
    Twinkie

  30. I’m glad that you did so well at the non-romp in the non-park! I’m just sorry to hear that you didn’t get a pig named Jenny.

    *kissey face*
    -Fiona and Abby the Mutant Puppy

  31. That is so exciting, you should be so proud of yourself. I remember all the earlier references of what a shy dog you were, so this is a huge accomplishment!

  32. Sam

    I’m glad you tipped me off to the fact that you blogged about this today, this wasn’t a post that I wanted to miss –

    Mayzie, you did AWESOME. So what if the Rally demo was cancelled – just being there was a really big thing for you. I have no doubt that you’d be able to compete in the future in the right place at the right time.

  33. Your are simply the best, Mayzie!
    Kisses and hugs
    Lorenza

  34. What a long way you’ve come, Mayzie! I hope you’re as proud of yourself as your mom and dad are! Way to go!

  35. Oh Mayzie – I’m not surprised your human is proud of you! That sounds like the most busy, scary, noise, crowded place – any doggie would have found it challenging – so it was wonderful how you could relax and chill out! I’m so sorry the Rally Demo was cancelled – I would have loved to have seen your moves! – but I’m sure they’ll ask you again coz you’re a natural star! I think you are a wonderful doggie ๐Ÿ˜›

    Slobbers,
    Honey the Great Dane

  36. That was well worth sneaking out for – I don’t think anyone will give you a hard time. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  37. That is so pawesome!

    Love,
    Teddy Bear

  38. Mayzie, I am so proud of you! I know how stressful those situations can be but it sounds like you were so brave! Doesn’t it feel good to do something you couldn’t do before?? Don’t worry about the lack of pictures. Mom’s have to take care of us first… flashy beast is second!

    Wags,
    Zona

    PeeS: Pee-Ay system… BOL!!

  39. Mayzie Girly! I am SO proud of you!

    It’s funny how our humans get it in their head that they know our limitations, and we continue to prove them wrong. You did GREAT, Mayzie!!!!!

    I have to tell you, I just love your little front right paw and how it is white! It is so dainty and cute! hehehe!

    xoxo
    Pearl

  40. Good for you, Mayzie! It sounds like you had quite a big day. You are so very good and brave.

  41. mmmm chick fil a I get that once a week when Im in Baltimore

    Don’t forget, we moved to http://dogisgodinreverse.com/

  42. We are so PROUD of you Miss Mayzie! You have come a long way, Baby!!! Being in crowds is something to get used to if you want to be able to go more places with the peoples, I ‘m finding out. Grammy is still getting me used to that so I can be a full time Helper Dog like Grandma OC used to be and like Uncle BG is now. They are supposed to have gotten one of those Chick Fill Ays in the big town near here recently so maybe someday we will get to taste some of that. Don’t know though, cause Papa doesn’t like chicken and Grammy LOVES Popeyes and doesn’t think ANY place else would taste as good. She likes it spicy!

Leave Me a Pawment!

