Time to Play the Name Game!

Yes. It's true. I will do anything for noms.

Hi everybuddy! Oh, I’m very much excited cuz of two reasons: 1) It’s the 4th of July and I’m having the best time pawtyin’ with my furends in Honorooroo!; and 2) it’s time to play Frankie’s Name Game!

Okay, now, here’s the truth of the matter. Mom and Dad aren’t terribly Most Interesting when it comes to picking out names. Generally, what they do is just start throwing out some names and see what sticks. Booooo-ring!

BUT, still, there’s a little bit of interestingness in each of our names so hopefully you won’t be TOO bored.

ABBY

Sweet Abby

When my Kitteh Sister Abby was living in rescue with her foster family, her name was “Stormy.” Mom and dad say that when they first adopted her she was REAL skeered of storms and maybe she was found in a storm and that’s why they named her that. But the name just didn’t fits her pawsonality – which wasn’t stormy at all. She’s a real calm kitteh and real sweet so they wanted to give her a name that was as sweet as she was. And so they started throwing out different names and the name “Abby” just seemed like a perfect fit!

RIPLEY

Now the name Ripley came to mom and dad cuz of that “Alien” movie.

Cuz Brudder Ripley kinda looked like an alien when he was a baby kitteh with his great BIG ears and he slobbered and was slimey and stuff!

Haha! Nooooo…not really. But remember how there’s an orange kitteh in the movie?

Well, that kitteh’s name was Jones and they didn’t think that fit him as much as the main character’s name, which was Ripley! Only she was a girl and Ripley is a boy. That confuses peoples sometimes. But when you gets to know Brudder Cap’n Ripley, there’s no mistaking that he’s ALL boy!

Call me a girl and risk bein' shot with me laser beam eyes!

BRUDDER RANGER

Back when he was just a plain old Joe.

Now, I named him the Brudder part cuz, well, he’s my Brudder and all. But when he was living in his rescue place, his name was “Joe.”

See, my Brudder Ranger is one of those fancy-schmancy doggies that comes with their own PAPERS! Um, I guess so they can learn to write or something, I dunno. Anyways, that was what his papers called him but mom and dad thought “Joe” was kinda ordinary for such an extra-extraordinary terrier such as him.

So since he was living in Texas, my mom and dad started thinking abouts all the things that were in Texas and they hit upon the Texas Rangers! Now there’s a baseball team down there that call themselves that. But they stole their name from these guys:

The REAL Texas Rangers

(I think that those baseball players oughta give back the name they stole cuz THESE Rangers carry GUNS!)

Anyway, mom and dad decided that since Brudder Ranger is always trying to keeps other doggies in order, that would be a pawfect name for him. So now his fancy-schmancy papers call him “RBR’s Texas Ranger Joe.” (Oh, if you were wondering, the RBR stands for Ratbone Rescues, who took him in when his first family fell on hard times.)

Howdy, Pardner! Texas Ranger Joe at your service!

MAYZIE

Hey! That’s me! It’s finally my turn!

Well, as usual, mom and dad started doing what they normally do. Throwing out names. And some of the names they came up with were: Greta, Bella, Emma, Chloe, Daisy. But none of ’em seemed to fit me.

Do I looks like a "Greta" to you?

Now, my mom LUVS plays. She luvs being in ’em and she luvs watching ’em. So she started thinking abouts this play called “Seussical.” And in this play, there’s a beautiful, way over-the-top bird named Mayzie. And she has this song called “Amazing Mayzie.”

And then mom remembered this book from a LONG time ago called, “What Maisie Knew” by Henry James. It was about a little girl named Maisie whose pawrents weren’t very nice and so she decided to go live with some other peoples instead.

I wonders if this Maisie knows as much as I do?

So cuz mom thought I was pretty amazing and cuz I started out my life living with not-so-good peoples and then came to live with them, she thought that might be the pawfect name for me. So she mentioned it to dad – and he liked it!

And that’s how I became the Most Amayz-ing Mayzie! And even though I’m not a bird – I can still FLY!

Ready for take-off!

Thank you, thank you for listening to our name stories. And I hopes you all have the very best 4th of July that ever was!

49 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

49 responses to “Time to Play the Name Game!

  1. Kendra, Daisy and Bella

    Wow! You can fly. We think your name fits you………except Seuss’ Runaway Mayzie, still on vacation and still as lazy…..doesn’t. You breathe new life and meaning into the name.

    Enjoyed everyone’s story.

    XXXOOO Daisy, kendra & Bella

  2. Mango

    Wonderful story. You do have a most interesting name. It is good to know more about it. And, yes, you sure can fly! Happy 4th!

    Slobbers,
    Mango

  3. Wow I never realised how difficult the hoo-mans make naming us but they do get there in the end. I love all of your names so much

    Big luvs
    Molly
    PeeS Going to go look for you now at the Luau

  4. We think your hoooomans have good names. We like them all especially Maisie. Our Mom is horrible at naming all of us.
    Hope you have a wonderful Fourth of July. Stay safe and take care.

  5. Oh I knews it all along that you was an Amazing Mayzie. Kinda thoughts I made it up myself though. Well, I pretends I comes up with it though…hehehehe. I thinks you haves a great name….I loooooves da name Mayzie.
    Ranger is so not a Joe. But, then again everbuddy caould say,” Go ask Joe, Joe knows”. Get it, you know cuz Ranger knows sooooo much stuffs. Nay, still don’t works fur him.
    Now bouts them kittehs…..ALL kittehs should haves da same name…Kitteh Kat
    Puddles

  6. Those aren’t boring name stories at all! You each have names that mean something special about you!

  7. That was most interesting, Mayzie. However you came by your names I think they fit you all very well. Ripley is a purrfectly good name for a pirate, for instance, even if it was gotten from a female character. Mayzie is just a wonderful name and suits you to a “T” because you are amayzing. I didn’t realize that Ranger’s name came partly because he’s a law and order type of doggy, though. That was a very interesting detail. Anywho, I think your names are terrific ones but it wouldn’t matter if you were called Fido, you’d still be the best ever and I’m so glad we’re friends.

    wags, Lola

  8. You all have amazing names.
    Happy Independence Day
    Love Ruby & Penny

  9. Your mom and dad did a great job in the naming department! Four great jobs! maybe you should throw them each an extra bone, tonight! Better yet, keep their bones for yourself!

  10. Your names fit, plain and simple! Luvs the story behind each and every one of thems!

    Happy July 4th!

    Woofs and Licks,
    Maggie Mae

  11. We thinks you all have very interesting names and that your parents did a good job choosing them. We will be playing the name game this afternoon. Scylla refused to give up her Scylla Sunday post so she is doing that this morning and I am doing the name game this afternoon. ~Fenris

  12. We like the name Greta but it really doesn’t suit you as much as Mayzie does… Your mom is most smart finding that name! And everyone else has the best names for themselves as well.

    Thanks for sharing your stories!

    Sam and Pippen

  13. Mayzie Gal…we enjoyed the story about your names. We think your Mom and Dad worked real hard to find the right ones to fit you. Don’t you think you should give them extra kisses today? We do.

    gussie

  14. Mayzie, Ranger, Abby and Cap’n my Cap’n,
    Mom and I think your Mom and Dad are excellent at the name game. They were very thorough and picked very appropriate names for each of you.

    Mayzie we had know idea you were such an gynamist!!! Do you do cartwheels too?

    Happy 4th of July,
    Madi and Mom

  15. Mayzie
    Looks like you are flying to me, Great name stories. Thanks for sharing

    Have a happy 4 th
    wags
    jazzi

  16. I disagree with you. I think that’s the first time EVERS! The history of your names is not boring!! I found the stories riveting, actually! I really like how your names reference where you came from… okay maybe not Ripley’s name. I HOPE not Ripley’s name. That movie scares me so much I’ve only seen the previews. But your name ties in so well with your background and Ranger’s name fits so well with his Texas roots…. it’s cool!

    See you at the luau!! Is Puddles back with more beers yet?

    Wags,
    Zona

  17. Happy 4th day of July. I think you should take time to celebrate.
    Very interesting about how all your family got their names.
    So- do you have nicknames for your humans? Names that they really should be called?

  18. Hi Hi Gorgeous Miss Mayzie,

    Oh firstly, happy 4th July to you and yours! 🙂

    Secondly, we want to apologise for not leaving many comments on your blog recently – FH has been super-busy! BUT we want to you know that we’ve been reading it (we can’t go without our Mayzie-fix!) even though we haven’t had the chance to comment on it! We LOVED your most recent WW post and we’d like to give your mom a big schnauzer snuggle for her gotcha day! That looks like a great treck you all went on!
    We’ve really been enjoying this name game of Frankies. We haven’t played ourselves as we posted about our names fairly recently, but we’ve really enjoyed finding out about how everypup got his or her name. You SO suit Mayzie – we love how it came to be yours. And Ranger is SO not a Joe, Ranger suits him down to the ground. 😀

    Schnauzer snuggles – JD and Max.

  19. Mayzie girl, this whole time we’ve been warning people that kittehs are evil and your momma and daddy just proved our point!! Riley was named after the movie ‘Alien’!! Oh… my… Dog! Well, whatever. We should have known that no one listens to the Smushies! We get no respect…

    Love,
    Stella, Gunther and Betty

  20. Those are cool stories and we love all your names. Cooper wants to have a flying contest with you!
    The Road Dogs

  21. Tee hee! Ripley was named after an alien? Sorry! I don’t know why that gave me the giggles! Hee hee! I would have to say that ALL of you got perfect names for who you are! I think you’re all lucky to have each other, too. Your mom and dad are so lucky that you all chose to live with them!

    Bunny

  22. What GREAT stories!

    Thanks furry furry much fur sharing them!

    Happy FoURth of WOO-ly!

    Hugz&Khysses,
    Khyra

  23. Thinkingwoman

    There is a saying about Texas Rangers (not the baseball team).

    One riot, one Ranger.

  24. Mayzie,

    OMD!!! Long lost cuzins AND the same Gotcha Day…WOW! And our good furiend Lola’s day is almost the same as ours too, that is so cool!

    Next year, you , me and Lola…a week long Gotcha Day Celebration! Let’s put our thinking caps on now and come up with sumptin good! : )

    Maggie Mae

  25. pretty miss mayzie!
    i loooove how you got your name, and i think it’s the best one out of the choices! you just look like a most lovely mayzie to me, and that maisie in henry james’s book just sealed the deal!
    so my mama is from texas, and she was uber excited to find out how mr. ranger got his name! she was all like, “for the alamo!” and “go big or go home!” and a bunch of other craziness. (it was a little embarrassing.)
    cap’n ripley was named after a girl?! i’m not so scared of his lazer beam eyes anymore. bwuahaha!!
    happy independence day!!
    *woof*
    the booker man

    pee s — oh, i am having such a wonderific time with you in honorooroo, too…warm, sandy beaches and a snuggly beauty by my side…somebuddy pinch the booker man cuz i must be dreamin’!!

  26. Great stories…Thanks for sharing!

    Wags and Licks,
    Mollie Jo & Bobo

  27. All of your names totally suit you!
    Have a happy 4th, Mayzie!

    Love ya lots,
    Maggie and Mitch

  28. I think your parents are pretty clever in coming up with names! Sometimes you just have to keep trying until you find the right name – and I think they did a great job with all of you!

    *kissey face*
    -Fiona and Abby the Mutant Puppy

  29. Oh my dogness Mayzie, How could you evew think those awe not the most wondewfullest intewesting stowies of how all of you got youw names?

    theya we all pawfect and vewy well thought out , not at all thwow out names. We love stowies and books and all youw pawents choices awe wondewful.
    You awe soo lucky to all be pawt of such a cool faboolous family
    smoochie kisses
    ASTA

    (now come back to Honowoowoo and lets go fow a swim in the lagoon, hehehe)

  30. Wow Mayzie…those are some very cool name stories!!!

    Smileys & Snuggles!
    Dory, Bilbo and Jacob

  31. We are just LOVING reading all these name stories! That younger picture of Ranger looks so much like our old Duncan (although he was a JRT not a RT). And we definitely think you are most perfectly named – nothing other than Mazyie would do!

    Snorts-
    Brutus & Carmen (the Frenchies)

  32. Amay-zing Mayzie – we LOVE it – your name is just pawfect for you, thanks for telling us how you became Mayzie. And Brudder Ranger – we figured it was for those Real Texas Rangers. Ranger Joe sounds really good together. Abby is a great kitty name and Ripley – he sure looks like a Ripley to us. It has been a lot of fun with this name game.

    Woos – Phantom, Thunder, and Ciara

  33. The stories behind your names are almost as interesting as your pictures (especially of you Mayzie – flying!!!) Truly Amazing. We didn’t realise you had such a big family.

    Nice to hear your mamma likes plays and things.

    Hector and Bonny

  34. hello mayzie its dennis the vizsla dog oh hay wow grate stories!!! the story of ripley is my fayvrit the only thing that cud mayk it better wood be if yoo had another brother naymd hudson!!! ha ha ok bye

  35. We loved hearing your stories, they were all very nice. I think it was wonderful that your name matches that of a girl who started life like you. We are glad you ended up with such nice parents Mayzie!

  36. Mayzie, I think your name has a very special story!

  37. I like your names too!
    Thanks for sharing the stories!
    Happy Independence Day!
    Kisses and hugs
    Lorenza

  38. A roasted weinie…girl, dat bikini top must be squeezing you brains out now…hehehehe.
    Puddles

  39. Hi cruz!!!~ Happy 4th of July!!~Love how you all got your names.
    Brudder Ranger sounds so much better than just Joe. Being from Texas I gotta agree that the Texas Rangers with them rifles are so much better.

    Happy 4th of July!!

    {{{huggies}}}…Mona

  40. joandstella

    My Mom loves the name of Mayzie and she says its perfect for you! Your kitty sibs got good names too. This was fun learning about who got named what, wasn’t it?

    Kisses,
    Stella

  41. Hey, Mayzie,

    I had to stop by again after you left a comment about my crew’s names.

    My brother thinks Oliver has Rhodesian Ridgeback in him, too! The DNA results haven’t come back yet, and I’m getting antsy. I can’t wait to see what they say!

    See you soon!

    Pibble

  42. Hello Beautiful Mayzie! Great names you and your siblings have. Certainly, nothing boring at all. I love learning how you gots your name. Amazing!
    Snuggles,
    Twix

  43. Mayzie,

    My moms been outta town, so I am just getting to read everybuddys Name Game posting.

    I am sooooo amazed that you and Maggie Mae have da EXACT SAME gotcha day! That be INCREDIBLE!! What be the odds that two such beautiful, happy and intelligent girls have the same gotcha day!

    Enjoyed your stories,
    MinnaK

  44. Mayzie tell Mom she is just too funny…saints and sinners…she and I balance one another out so that neither of us is too boring or to brazen!!!
    Hugs Madi and Mom

  45. Wonderful post! I really enjoyed learning about all your names. And I did not know Henry James wrote that book. I enjoy his stories so I think I will hunt down that book and read it! xoxo

  46. Woof! Woof! Great names. Enjoyed reading your NAME GAME post. Lots of Golden Woofs, Sugar

  47. I feel so lazy by comparison for just pulling dog names out of the air. 🙂

  48. Oh! That was not boring at all!! I don’t know why your humans think they are not creative about names – they had really good thoughts and reasons for all those names! And I think they suit each of your PERFECTLY!! What a great game – I must get my human to help me play it too!

    By the way, am so sorry I have missed so many of your posts – my human has just been so busy making Dead Lines that she hasn’t had any time to help me with my blog much or visiting friends at all! 😦 But I hope I will be able to catch up now –

    Slobbers,
    Honey the Great Dane

  49. This was SOOOOOO INTERESTING! Not boring AT ALL! We definitely like Ranger (and why) better than plain old Joe, and Grammy knows about the Mayzie bird, too. She’s always loved your name and thinks they came up with a great one with lots of energy… JUST LIKE YOU!

Leave Me a Pawment!

