Saturday Smiley: Cold Cuzin Bridger

This was a picture of my Cuzin Bridger on a camping trip. Now, he almost never, EVER gets cold cuz his kind luvs the cold and the water and stuff. But on this pawticular camping trip, he actually shivered! So my auntie covered him up with a blankie.

In case you missed it in my other posts about Cuzin Bridger, he’s an Italian Spinone. Or if you wanna gets real fancy – a Spinone Italiano. They are a hunting dog real popular in that Italy place. Here’s part of what the Dog Breed Info website had to say about ’em. (Oh, by the way – I sent this to my Cuzin Bridger for verification and he sent it back with his notes in red.)

The Spinone has great strength and stamina (when he wants to), suited for hunting in all climates (less than 45 degrees) and on all terrains. Extremely intelligent (SO true), happy, upbeat and enthusiastic (about noms), the Spinone Italiano is a pleasant, easy-going breed. Although serious when at work in the field, he definitely has a clownish side that is often quite entertaining. (My mother  gets a particularly good laugh when she comes home and finds that I’ve helped myself to the delicious noms in the trash and have experienced, shall we say, gastric upset.) Never bossy or whiny (note from Bridger’s mom: where do they get this stuff?), this gentle soul loves children, those he knows, and those he does not (as long as they have noms). This breed gets along well with other animals, particularly enjoying the company of another dog (they can be useful in getting me extra noms). He wants to be with his people, whether that means at home or traveling. (Cuz that’s where the noms are.) He is a quiet breed in general, but may occasionally howl along with a siren (trying to alert them that I’m starving to death and need to be saved). Spinone is not a protection breed. He is either unlikely to attack under any circumstance or would only do so if he or his family (or noms) is directly threatened. He learns fast (how to gets the best noms). An intelligent hunter, they are aware of the difference between a real hunt and an exercise. (My mother is a real disappointment in this area. Never ONCE has she taken me on a real hunt. Although occasionally I take myself on real hunts. But that’s a story for another day.) For example, one breeder mentioned that his dog is perfectly willing to pick up downed birds, but he is reluctant to retrieve a training dummy. (And why would he? Can you eat it? Uh, no.) Nor does the breed perform in flashy style, instead being a slow, steady worker on the hunt or in the ring. They respond well to motivational (translation: noms) training. The coat protects them from the water and freezing temperatures of the swamp, casually going into cold, deep water. They an excellent swimmer and a model retriever (of noms).

Well, I hopes you enjoyed learning more abouts my Cuzin Bridger and I hopes you have the bestest Saturday that ever was!

24 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

24 responses to “Saturday Smiley: Cold Cuzin Bridger

  1. Mayzie,
    Bridger needs to get an agent and take his comedy routine on the road!!!
    Let us know when he might be appearing in Raleigh.
    Hilarious….
    madi and Mom

  2. How funny, I was getting ready to ask when da next Bridger post was gonna be. I haves missed him cuz he now my cuz too…well, cuz I said so really. I’m hunter too you know. Now, I’m gonna be waiting on a hunting post. I just loves MY cuzzin Bridger.
    HEY Bridger….you NEEDS a bloggie…you get bloggie, you get noms.
    Puddles

  3. Oh Mayzie,
    Too funny ! Mom and me really enjoyed learning all about your cuzzin Bridger. Does Bridger have a bloggie yet? He should. 🙂
    Happy Saturday, I hopes you gets to do something fun!

    Woofs and Licks,
    Maggie Mae

  4. Bridger seems to have a bit of a one track mind! Not that I blame him it’s on the right track!

    Wags!

    Mr. Nubbin’

  5. Miss Mayzie, oh sweet Miss Mayzie, how we’ve missed you and your wonderful blog this week! We are so glad our assitante – erm, we mean our FH – is back where she belongs, helping us to keep in touch with our pals. We’re just about to have a feast on the posts we have missed…. 🙂

    Your cousin Bridger is already our hero – our FH did chuckle to learn about his breed and his corrections to it! As his FH says, where DO these folks get this information?! Apparently, WE’RE a breed that don’t dig – seems like someone forgot to tell us, he he he!

    Loved the photo of Bridger, he has such wise eyes, we are impressed at his in-depth nom-knowledge!

    Schnauzer snuggles – JD and Max.

  6. Cuzin Bridger sounds like a pawfectly charming fellow. You’re lucky to have such nice dog family and they’re very lucky, too, for the same reasons. I still think that Italian Spinone sounds like a type of ice cream, which isn’t a bad thing anyway.

    Thank you for your comments. I am trying to get caught up as best I can. There’s still a lot of weekend left.

    wags, Lola

  7. Hey..I have an Italian muzzer and you have an Italian Cuzzin.

    Do you think we might be related?

    gussie

  8. We think we like your cuzin… always thinking about the noms! That’s one smart doggie!

    Hope you and brudder Ranger are having a swell weekend!

    Sam and Pippen!

  9. Frankie Furter

    Hey Mayzie your Cuzzin is a lot nicer than MY cuzzin. I liked reading about that kind of dawg. Thanks.

  10. Tee hee hee! It sounds like Bridger needs to have a blog of his own! He sounds like a very witty and entertaining fellow. Not to mention that he’s quite handsome! I still like the story about him breaking out of camp for the treats.

    Bunny

  11. Khuzin Bridger and I khould be some pawesome pals!

    Thanks fur letting him tell us the REAL info about the breed!

    Hugz&Khysses,
    Khyra

  12. Daisy Kendra & Bella

    Bridger sounds like quite a character. We identify with him. We hunt, AND we love food. Glad to meet him.

    XXXOOO Daisy, Kendra & Bella

  13. We think we could get along very well with your Cuzin Bridger!

    Love ya lots,
    Maggie and Mitch

  14. Hi, Mayzie!
    I loved reading about Cuzin Bridger!
    Happy Saturday!
    Kisses and hugs
    Lorenza

  15. I still think Italian Spinone sounds like a dessert! Mmmm, dessert …

  16. miss mayzie,
    so i kinda had a hard time focusing on the informationals about your cousin bridger cuz i kept seeing NOMS! everywhere…heehee…
    *woof*
    the booker man

  17. Cuzin Bridger is very handsome. We gather he likes noms:)

    Woos – Phantom, Thunder, and Ciara

  18. Bridger in the house… Go Bridger Go Bridger! I enjoy this boaf informative and humorous blog post. It beckon the ole phrase, “take one to know one”, and it is SO true!

    NOMinal proach is most accurate proach. Just sayin.

    wif love from the Luke

  19. Your cousin Bridger seems like a nice upstanding kinda of pup (especially about noms!)

    Smileys!
    Dory

  20. Your Cuzin Bridger is a cutie! Never heard of the Italian Spinone breed before. My chi’s are big fans of the noms too!

  21. Hi Mayzie,

    Thanks so much for coming over to visit me and leaving such a nice comment on my blog! I am so happy to meet you – I have been hearing a lot about you from my other blog friends – and I’m looking forward to reading more about your adventures! 😀

    Slobbers,
    Honey the Great Dane
    ps. I had a little giggle when I read your info in your sidebar about your Blogger friends not being able to follow you – I always get that same complaint too! I’m on WordPress like you. So thanks so much for showing me how to fix that – do you mind if I “borrow” your message to put on my blog too?

  22. Thank you for sharing these interesting facts about your cousin!
    He looks so comfy and warm under that blanket 🙂

    Love, Bella.

  23. Cuzin Bridger sounds very smart! I also would love to see him get his own blog – thank you for sharing another picture of him and telling us more about his breed. His notes were very helpful, so if I ever see a doggie like Cuzin Bridger I will know just what to do (give him noms of course).

  24. Are you sure your Cuzin Bridger isn’t part corgi? He’s definitely got a corgi brain… one that is eternally looking for foodables! The CCC

Leave Me a Pawment!

