The Day I Found My Voice

Hi Everybuddy!

Today I would likes to tell you something about me. Something that may surprise and shocks you. And that something is that, well, I don’t sing. Not a note. I mean, I’ve always felt like, what’s the point? After all, it’s not like I’m a Sibe like Khyra or the Chronicle of Woos pack. (Well, I don’t think so anyway.)

Now on the other paw, Brudder Ranger LUVS to sing. Oh, he is Most Musical. And he very much especially luvs it when mom and dad organize a family singalong – something which I’ve always thought was a little…um…cuckoo nuts, to tells you the plain truth. The first time they all broke out into song, I was lookin’ for the first bus back to my Angel Donna Fostermommy, I can tell you that!

Help me! I've ended up with a pack of looneys!

I’ve even heard my neighbor doggies singing at the tops of their lungs. But I never felt the need to join in. And those fire trucks that so often cause other doggies to burst into song? Nothin’.

Nope, nothing could ever convince me to sing.

Nothing, that is, until….

Lorenza!

Yes, that’s right! Lorenza changed everything I ever felts about singing.

So how did this happen, you might wonder? Well, the other night me and mom were relaxing with some popcorn and watching the entries for Norwood’s Pawdance Film Festival when mom clicked on Lorenza’s entry.

Now, at first I didn’t think anything too much about it. But as the video wents on and her very much lovely voice filled the air – ohmidogness! I can’t tell you what came over me! Suddenly and without warning, her Most Beautiful singing made me feel something way down deep and next thing I knew…I was SINGING!

Oh, it was Most Glorious! I sang and sang! Then Brudder Ranger joined in, and then mom and dad. And together we just sang our little hearts out. It was like we were the Von Trapp family or something. Only without those silly outfits.

Oh! My tail still wags just thinking about it!

So now I would likes to share with you a video mom took of me and Brudder Ranger joining togethers in song with our dear furend, Lorenza – the little doxie with a big voice who taught me how to SING!

37 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

37 responses to “The Day I Found My Voice

  1. OMC & OMD mom and I nearly wet on ourselves….well Mom did I’m too much of a diva to do that. That is the funniest thing we’ve seen in a very long time.
    Mayzie I think your dee-n-nay test will come back to say you are part

  2. continued from above…Mom’s keyboard froze on her…MOL
    that you ‘ain’t nothing but a hound dog’…that is a singing Elvis Presley hound dog. Madi sings…………..one note………MEOW however she has several octaves she can reach.
    Madi and Mom

  3. Mayzie,
    That was wonderfuls and most glorious! I am very impressed by your new talent. You and Ranger should take that show on the road!
    I don’t sings either, maybe I can takes lessons from you?

    Woofs and Licks,
    Maggie Mae

  4. Oh WOW! You should hear what that video did to me! Mom should taking a video of me watching you watching Lorenza… It could be the newest thing – a regular doggie choir! I’m more of a baritone myself.

    Snorts-
    Brutus the Frenchie

  5. Bravo, Bravo, Bellisima!

    Gussie

    (more of a tenor)
    and Teka
    (second soprano)

  6. Frankie Furter

    Oh My Dawg Mayzie you have a beautiful voice. I think you and Brudder Ranger should start singing PAWfessionally!! Bravo Bravo Encore Encore

  7. Bravo Bravo…Encore Encore! You did a fantastic preformance.

    Wags and Licks,
    Mollie Jo & Bobo & Uncle Puppy

  8. Bravo Mayzie and Ranger Bravo!! Stella and I love to sing and belt out the roo roo rooooossss! But Betty has not found her voice yet either. We thinks she realizes that if she did sing, she’d be a dead ringer (no pun intended) for Barry White. And that wouldn’t bode well for a chick.

    Kisses,
    Stella, Gunther and Betty

  9. Pingback: Tweets that mention The Day I Found My Voice « Mayzie's Dog Blog -- Topsy.com

  10. Sammie

    Mayzie! So sorry we haven’t visited in so long – looks like you’ve been taking hikes and just having an amazing life with your wonderful peeps! But this post takes the cake! You should be a contestant on the next Canine American Idol hehehheeeee!!! That is so funny and wonderful, considering that you’d never uttered one note before! Pawsome and you are definitely a natural! Great job! Isn’t Norwood’s Pawdance amazing?!!! We love watching the indies over there! Save me a seat tonight!
    Hugs xo
    Sammie

  11. Hi Mayzie, can you hear us joining in with you and Lorenza all the way over here in Scotland?
    If you were in the UK we would enter you in Britain’s Got Talent!
    xxx

  12. Miss Mayzie,
    You have a true gift with such a beautiful voice. I just didn’t know you had nevers discovered it in your life. If I had known I would haves given you some free singing lessons. Maybe we cans start our very own band. Oh yes, and just thinks with your brindle hairs da crowd will go bonkers. Oh I gots it…we can be like da Village People and instead of da Police officer you couds be Batman. Am I a genious or what.
    Puddles

  13. Hey Mayzie – you just left a comment on my blog – and I JUST posted another post…
    TOBY PASSED, he REALLY PASSED!!

  14. Oh Mayzie…you have a beautiful voice!! Maybe you and Ranger can start a band!!

    Smileys!
    Dory

  15. dearest mayzie
    you MUST start touring worldwide at once.
    imagen all the people who would be treated to your most glorious voice. it would be the next big thing. the trio of woggies. the three musketeers. the next destiny’s child i say.
    we would pay top treats to shee you in concert for sure.
    we loved LOVED your video and made ush wiggly all ofur

    pibble wiggles
    the pittie pack

  16. OMD – Mayzie, you sound just like our sweet Dakota did – very pleasant voice you have there – we LOVED hearing you and Ranger vocalize together.

    Woos – Phantom, Thunder, and Ciara

  17. Khongrats!

    That was furry inkhredible!

    Thanks fur sharing AND thanks to Lorenza fur the inspiration!

    Hugz&Khysses,
    Khyra
    PeeEssWoo: The only time Mom khan really hear me/khatch me ‘singing’ is when the phone rings and no one pikhks it up – one of these days she’s going to try and rekhord that – the only problem there is that when she has the flashie beastie ready fur THAT, I don’t 😉

  18. Kendra, Daisy and Bella

    You are magnificient! I bet your family knows now that your voice was worth waiting for.
    We don’t sing. But we appreciate great voice when we hear it. (We enjoyed Lorenza, too.)

    XXXOOO Daisy, Kendra & Bella

  19. That was awesome! You and Ranger should try out for American Idol next week season. You’re both naturals!

    Bunny

  20. You haves a most wonderful and beautimous voice Miss Mayzie. Perhaps there can be a command performance for mom and dad the next time they come over! 🙂

    Wags!

    Mr. Nubbin’

  21. Haaaaa!
    Finally I did something good!
    It was pawesome to listen to you and Ranger singing!
    I don’t do it very often but when I do it… I do it!
    Kisses and hugs
    Lorenza

  22. Mayzie that is so awesome!! And it is so cool that you got to sing with everyone! And that was a super cute video – thanks for sharing it with us!!

  23. OMD, that was possibly the greatest thing I’ve ever seen/heard. You have a wonderful voice. I’m so glad that Lorenza helped you find it. There was also something so magical about hearing you and Ranger singing together with Lorenza. I’m not at all a singer, or even a barker, but your singing did inspire me to dance.

    This just might be one of the best blog posts ever. Ever.

    wags, Lola

  24. Pawesome! Although, I didn’t hear the parentals. May I also suggest you face the camera next time? I mean, the shoulder peaks were terribly cute… What a duet! Glad you liked Boomer’s singing video. He too tried really hard.
    Twinkie

  25. Mayzie, you have so many talents!! I’m in awe!! I’ll be looking for you and Ranger on American Idols: DUETS!

    BTW: my two-leggers were the tent camping type before I came along. They just KNEW with my fearful… ahem… cautious background, tent camping would not be a pleasant experience for me and thus the camper idea was born! People and change make my nerves all jumbly so having bits of home with me is great. Not to mention we can camp longer since papa’s back can’t take too much REAL camping these days! BOL!

    Keep up the singing!!!

    Wags,
    Zona

  26. oh, mis mayzie, you have a super lovely singing voice, and i’m so happy that miss lorenza helped you find it! i think you and mr. ranger should group up with miss lorenza and have a summer concert series. we can all bring some popcorn and a blankey and just sit outside under the starry sky and listen to ya’ll sing ‘n sing. yup, that’d be a good time for sures!!
    *woof*
    the booker man

  27. ROFL! You owe that Lorenza a dress, she’s a great teacher!

  28. Mayzie..
    that is the best best best news ever and I’m so happy the film festival found your inner songbird. I love this post. Now we need to see it on video.
    norwood

  29. OOops I was so excited I didn’t watch the video… I am now.
    norwood

  30. We never expected wooooos to come out of you, Mayzie! You have an awesome voice!

    Love ya lots,
    Maggie and Mitch

  31. Mango

    What a beautiful song! I am not certain Brudder Ranger is the best back up band for you though. He doesn’t seem to have the melody as much as you. I hope to hear more of you.

    Slobbers,
    mango

  32. My dog tilted his head to the right and left as watching earnestly this movie, and my cat runs away in a flurry. This is an entertainment for many dogs.

  33. All you needed was the right teacher!

  34. cool tune… see, it just takes one!

    too funny
    tula

  35. Miss Mayzie – oh, you have the sweetest voice! We always thought you would have, but now we know for sure that you sound just like an angel! We were looking forward to this post as we’ve heard about it from a few other doggie blogs and it doesn’t disappoint. In fact, Max’s tail nearly wagged OFF when it was played – perhaps we should get a video of THAT, he he he!! Schnauzer snuggles – JD and Max.

  36. daisydog

    What a great duet! Good thing you found your voice, I hate it when things get lost….

  37. Well… we read this and BEGGED Grammy to let us see the video, but she absolutely refused. Said something about it’s being almost 2 a.m. in the morning and how Papa had to get up and go to work and would NOT appreciate it if we DID decide to join you in song… Still every once in a while, we do go out anyway and shout at those coyote song dogs around here and tell THEM to shut up because PAPA IS TRYING TO SLEEP!!!!

    Maybe we can get her to let us watch later… The CC Pups

Leave Me a Pawment!

