Take a Hike, Mom!

Hi hi hi! I hopes everybuddy’s weekend was just Most Fabulous and that you had a good time celebrating Mom’s Day with your moms. We had a very much great day ourselves and gaves mom the best gift she coulda ever asked for! A hike!

We got real lucky cuz the weather here in Collie-rado has been sorta crazy wacko. Last weekend we even had SNOW! But this weekend, it was practically perfect so we loaded up the truck and went to this very much fun place abouts 16 hours 45 minutes away. And guess what? This place has a lake and lakes are pretty hard to come by in Collie-rado, let me tell you.

Anyways, when we got there, we took this little trail up, up, up…

And when we got to the top, it had a very much great view.

But I wasn’t all that crazy abouts the top of this place, cuz even though it had that Most Marvelous view and some of these…

It also had LOTS of these…

and these…

and these…

And I kept getting pointy things in my paw. So after awhiles (and some dramatic limping by yours truly even after they had removed all said pointy things), mom and dad took us down by the lake. Now that was more like it! No pointy things there!

I even put my paws in the water and to my great surprise, my brindle furs didn’t wash away! I thought for sure they would!

THEN…I saw a DUCK swimming on the water!! And you may remember from last week how I LUVS ducks. So I thought I would try to go get to know it a little better. But lakes are very much tricky creatures! Did you know that when you’re walking in a lake, sometimes the ground just goes away underneath you?

Oh, mom and dad laughed and laughed! But between you and me, I didn’t see what they thought was so funny at all!Β  So I just stuck to dry land after that but I kept a close eye on the water.

And guess what I saw?

You see those little white things? (Click to biggify for a better look.) Can you tell what they are? I thoughts they were ducks and mom thought they were swans but dad got out his bye-nockers and he said they were PELICANS! Pelicans in Collie-rado! How crazy is that? (My mom has a friend whose last name is Pelican. I wonders if they’re related?)

Oh! And we saw some of these Most Magnificent birds. Mom said they were prolly from a family of birds called The Cranes. You shoulda seen how long their legs were and how BIG their wings were when they flew off!

Anyways, after our oh-so-fun hike, we gots home and gave mom her Mother’s Day card that we all me and Brudder Ranger picked out. Here’s the front…

And then when you open it up, it has a recording of a bunch of dogs barking. Haha! Isn’t that the funniest?

Well, at least I thoughts so. Brudder Cap’n Ripley wasn’t really amused by it.

Yarrrrr! This card tis misleadin'! Cap'n Ripley be no part of a "dog pack"!

Anyways, that was our very much fun Mother’s Day! I hopes you got to do on Mother’s Day whatever made you Most Happy!

28 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

28 responses to “Take a Hike, Mom!

  1. I have a pet DUCK! Wanna come play Mayzie? Her name is Ratdat, Daisy or Sparkle, my 3 year old human changes her mind about that all the time:)

  2. Mango

    I think those ducks are going to lure you in over your head sooner or later. Be brave!

    Slobbers,
    Mango

  3. Oh, what a fun and adventurous day! You were so brave to carry on after getting those sharp thingies in your paws and almost drowning in the lake. I guess you’re not all that fearful anymore, Mayzie. I’m surprised about the pelicans, too. Maybe they decided the lake was a perfect place to hang out and wait for ski season to come back to Aspen.

    wags, Lola

  4. Mayzie…Madi and I will be on the next magic carpet to Collie-rado…you guys have so much fun..well minus the prickly things!!
    BEAUTIFUL scenery and wildlife.
    Madi and Mom

  5. It looks like you and your peoples had a great day Mayzie! I have never seen pelicans before, they sure do looks funny.

    Woofs and Licks,
    Maggie Mae

  6. That looks like you had a very fun day yesterday! and you really should try swimming again, it’s lots of fun and in the summer you can get cooled off! We don’t like pokey things in our paws either and are amazed that you would still walk! we stop and just lift our paw up until mom fixes it… we think maybe you need to train your mom and dad betters!

    Sam and Pippen

  7. Mayzie you gots it all wrong…those pelicans are famous…they was in a movie called da Pelican Breif. You shoulds have tried to get their autograph.
    That looks like a most dangerous place to go….well, any place is dangerous fur me….never mind, I just make it dangerous…hehehe!
    I so glad your mom had a very much terrific momma’s day.
    Puddles

  8. What a great hike Mayzie, minus the poky things. πŸ˜‰ I hear ya on the water….I feel the same way. Cool about the Pelicans…we saw some in our area once….they were just migrating through. Maybe yours were too but stopped for a break. πŸ˜‰

    Kisses,
    Nala

  9. What a nice hike that looks like. Bummer about the pointy things, though! THe first thing I thought when I saw the prickly pears is “oh I hop eMayzie didn’t sit on any of those!”. You were brave to wade out into those waters – I stay away from them myself – maybe just one paw can get wet if I’m really thirsty!

    Snorts-
    Brutus the Frenchie

  10. That looks like so much fun! I bet you fell in the water on purpose just to give your parents a laugh…

  11. hello mayzie its dennis the vizsla dog hay that luks like a fun hike eksept for the owchie poynty things!!! wot ar those trees dooing in the layk dont they no they ar suppozd to grow in the grownd??? stoopid trees!!! happy belayted mamas day!!! ok bye

  12. oh we were furry much scared for you being in the water . we did’nt want your bewootiful brindles to wash away. those ducks are kinda sneaky are’nt they? i wonder if they are related to the twee rats cause they are the masters of sneakyness. you should ask them next time.

    pibble wiggles
    the pittie pack

  13. Christina

    Oh Mayzie if you have any left over ouchies I will totally smoochies them for you until they hurt no more. Thats my job. yep. Making Mayzie feel happies and butterflies inside at ALL TIMES.

    Happy Mothers Day to your most wonderful mom, Mayzie! woo sure are a lucky girl, in fact, woo ALL are lucky to have a most beawoootiful, kind, and giving momma. I mean seriously you gets cheese AND Spaghettis!!!

    Wags and woofs,
    Mack and Mia

  14. Lyla was attacked by the pricklies on our walk this morning … and did some pretty dramatic limping of her own.

    Glad you gave your mama a proper Mother’s Day. Mine was a lovely afternoon playing Bananagrams on the patio with the family (who grilled nummy shrimp for their mummy).

  15. Oh it sounds like you had a wonderful, fun Mother’s Day, except for those prickly things of course. But a hike sounds like a great time! And that is such a cool card – but we do understand why Cap’n Ripley was a bit put off by it. But we still think it is a cute one!!

  16. Those ducks can be tricky! Don’t trust them! I hope you catch one, though!

    Bunny

  17. What a great hike you must have had! I love that you were leading the way!! Have you convinced your two-leggers to let you have a duck or two of your own yet?

    Wags,
    Zona

  18. Hi Mayzie girl, mom’s email has been jacked up. So hopefully we’ll start getting notices of your new posts again!

    It looks like you had a great hike! What fun!

    Love,
    Stella, Gunther and Betty

  19. Kendra, Daisy and Bella

    Fantastical walk. Thanks for sharing it with all the great pictures. Bella tried to walk on the duck pond (lured by ducks) when she first came. She was one surprised little scottie when she surfaced!

    XXXOOO Daisy, Kendra & Bella

  20. What a great and PAWESOME day – of khourse, once woo make your POINT!

    Thanks fur sharing!

    Hugz&Khysses,
    Khyra

  21. Hi, Mayzie!
    Sure you had a pawesome day!
    Sorry about the pointy things!
    And…. a nice splash! wow!
    Thanks for sharing it!
    Kisses and hugs
    Lorenza

  22. What a great pressie you gave to your Mom, Mayzie!!! That was just a wonderful adventure, except for those prickly things. Better stay away from those on your next trip. Hope your Mom enjoyed her special day.

    Woos – Phantom, Thunder, and Ciara

  23. A belated Happy Mother’s Day from me and my pack πŸ™‚ Loved yesterday’s meaningful yet subtle post. I didn’t know how else to reach you to tell you how much I loved the Mayzie – Catboo videos, both of them. I empathized while M . . . ROFL with your humans
    Twinkie

  24. You had a great day out. Loved seeing all your pictures.. What hge birdies you saw. I would be afraid they would eat me up.. Hugs GJ xx

  25. That was a fun hike and we just love visiting you Mayzie.

    chikisses
    coco

  26. miss mayzie,
    how super duper funsies that you got to take your mama on a hike for mother’s day!! i just know she totally loooved it, especially with all those pretty birdies everywhere! i’m sorry you kept getting pointy thingies in your footsies, though. maybe you could get some hiking booties for next time?
    oh, i think the mother’s day card that you and mr. ranger picked out is grrreat!! i should have thought of somethingie like that…there’s always next year! πŸ™‚
    *woof*
    the booker man

  27. Hello Mayzie,

    What a boootiful place you guys have for a walk! It looks rather dry, unlike the west coast terrain. And you saw all those different types of birdies, that’s so cooooool. I’ve NEVER seen a pelican before, and neither has mum.

    That’s a very cute card you guys picked out for your mom, we enjoyed it!

    Love nibbles,
    Miss Sunshade

  28. That sounds like a LOT of fun! I know about that water thing suddenly disappearing! I learned to swim really fast when I chased a stick Robert threw for me… He didn’t realize that there was one place that was a bit deep for my short legs in the otherwise shallow creek we visited awhile back! Gimli from Corgi country

Leave Me a Pawment!

