Saturday Smiley: The Mayor of Divide

Hello and happy Saturday everybuddy! I would likes to introduce you to the new mayor of Divide, CO…

Spright!

Mayor Spright

Isn’t she Most Beautiful? You may right away notice something very much special about her. Yes! That’s right! She has Most Magnificent ears like me!

How did she come to be Mayor? Well, you see, Divide is a pretty small town here in Collie-rado and it’s so small that they didn’t even have a Mayor! So this very much wonderful shelter place called Teller County Regional Animal Shelter decided that they would hold an “election” to raise green papers to helps animals. And any doggie or kitteh that lived up that way could run and anybuddy could vote as many times as they wanted to for only $1 a vote.

It came down to Spright and a 3-legged kitteh named Walter and Spright won!

The funniest thing is that my mom knew abouts Spright before she was Spright. Her name used to be Carly and a lady my mom works with – who volunteers at that shelter – sent my mom Carly’s picture to see if my mom knew anybuddy who would want to adopt her.

This is when she first came into the shelter. Her leg was hurt real bad when they found her and they had to take it off a little while after this picture was taken.

Well, my mom fell in luvs with her right away and told another furend about Carly. That furend took her husband to meet Carly but being the good and smart peoples they are, they decided not to adopt her cuz they thought she had WAY too much energies for their family – even with only 3 legs and those Most Magnificent ears weighing her down. (Note to all humans out there: This is a verrry important lesson. No matter how cutes you think a dog or kitteh is, you have to make sure they will fit with you and you with them so’s everybuddy’s happy. ‘Kay?)

Anyways, my mom was Most Thrilled when Carly got adopted but she didn’t know what happened to her. And then lo and behold, she read the article about Divide’s new mayor! Here’s the whole article if you want to read all abouts her and find out the rest of her story.

So from me and my mom – congrats to Carly/Spright! We know she will be the very best Mayor that ever was!

***

And on another notes, I am pawticipating in this very much grrreat thing called a BlogHop.

But, well, after doing a little bit of researching, mom and me found out that WordPress doesn’t let us run something called “java code” which is what you need to show the list of peoples and 4-leggers who are pawticipating. (All of you who blog on Blogger have all the fun!) So if you wanna pawticipate or just see go visits those who are pawticipating, clicky on the badge above or go here. (Sorry abouts that. Stupid WordPress.)

28 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

28 responses to “Saturday Smiley: The Mayor of Divide

  1. Certainly Spright would be an improvement over some we have had in Mayemphis!

  2. Now that’s a mayor I know I can trust and support! Go Spright!!! I love how she and her runner up prove that we won’t be held back by things such as ears weighing us down sometimes. 🙂

    I love your nicknames and Ranger’s, btw. So cute! Aren’t two-leggers silly? I secretly like all my special names though.

    Happy Saturday!

    Wags,
    Zona

  3. Hi Mayzie…mom and I think you and Spright(love the name too) might share the dee-ne-nay that makes beautiful puppies…cause she is most beautiful just like you.
    G-ma is doing well today she had a good night’s sleep will take it easy for a few days.
    Happy Saturday,
    Madi and Mom

  4. Mango

    Very good advice. Not every doggie is right for every family.

    Slobbers,
    Mango

  5. I want to live in a town that has a dog for mayor! Too cool!

    You can’t use html code, either? That sucks!

    Bunny

  6. Every town in the USA should have a mayor like that!! xoxo

  7. Thanks for the uplifting story! Spright is lovely! We have a few rescues of all energy levels in this house including an aloof Newf, a hyper hound and two twin kittens at 6 months of age. It’s a zoo but we wouldn’t have it any other way.

    See you around the blog hop!

  8. That is the COOOLEST thing to have a canine as a Mayor!! I LOVE Spright/Carly’s ears, they do just look like yours Mayzie. Do you guys hear EVERYTHING happening in the world??

    I have one question, how come Spright had 4 leggies in the second picture but only 3 in the mayor pic??

    Love nibbles,
    Miss Sunshade

    • Yes! I do hear everything…that I want to. Heehee.

      You are most observant! That second picture was taken when she first got to the shelter. Her leg was hurt real bad so they decided to amputate it sometime after the picture was taken. I should go put that in the post in case others wonder about it!

  9. She’s adorable Ms. Mayzie. You guys look like you could be related. Maybe you are. Wouldn’t that be something to be related to a mayor?

    Kisses,
    Stella, Gunther and Betty

  10. I found you via the Blog Hop! Love your site and the story about Carly/Spright is so heartwarming. What a cutie, and those are sure some magnificent ears!

  11. Stopping by to say hello from Pet Blogger Hop! I am so excited to meet new Pet Bloggers thank you for linking up.

    Two Little Cavaliers,
    Davinia & Indiana

    When you click to get the code the top code is for blogger but they have a code that those with wordpress can use.

    Do you think Spright will make her first order of business as Mayor to create a big giant doggy park and inviting us all to have fun in her town?

  12. ooo, i wanna go live there so mayor spright can be my mayor! that is super duper cool!!
    *woof*
    the booker man

    pee s — miss mayzie, thanks for saying those nice thingies to my mama. i know you made her feel better. me ‘n asa have been givin’ her lotsa kisses today. 🙂

  13. Thanks fur introducing us to the khool mayor and fur sharing her story!

    She is khwite the looker!

    Hugz&Khysses,
    Khyra

  14. That is just da craziest Mayzie…your mom knowing that little doggie that was kind of in da window. Personally, I thinks I would make a most excellent mayor….then president…oh my dog, coulds you imagine? I must start on my platform.
    Puddles

  15. Hi Miss Mayzie – gosh, we’ve missed your blog! We’ve had trouble getting on line for what feels like a million years!! 😦 But now our broadband is working again so we simply DASHED round to your blog!!

    Hey, Carly is so sweet – her ears are soooo beautiful, almost as beautiful as yours! We know a three legged jack russell called ‘Kandu’ who works as a PAT dog for people who have had to undergo amputations. Unlike most doggies who don’t have 4 legs Kandu was actually born with just 3 legs and his vet adopted him as he noticed what an amazing character he had. And hence his name too as Kandu can do anything!! We love that Carly is mayor – that is so cool!! 😀

    Schnauzer snuggles – JD and Max.

  16. At last, a politician I can support!

  17. Kendra, Daisy and Bella

    That’s a great story, Mayzie! (We’re very glad the cat didn’t win!)

    XXXOOO Daisy, Kendra & Bella

  18. Hi Mayzie,

    Thanks for stopping by and saying hi to me. I can’ts wait to find out if you have sum boxer in you, it sure looks like you do. Maybe we are related? Wouldn’t that be fun!

    Woofs and Licks,
    Maggie Mae

  19. We noticed Spright’s mustache immediately! We would vote for her on that reason alone! What a cutie she is!

    Love ya lots
    Maggie and Mitch

  20. Hi Mayzie,

    Yep our Mommies are quite a lot alike. You have all becomem very special to us too!! I would have voted for the new mayor if I lived up there.

    I’m feeli9ng OK, it’s just Mommy who’s the nervous wreak but she be ok. I been snuggling with her a lot and she loves that so it’ll be ok.

    Give your Mom lots of Mother’s Day kisses from me.

    {{{huggies}}}…Mona

  21. Oh for goodness sake, a mayor who’s a dog! I bet this mayor won’t have any infidelities (whatever that means) or political issues that I’ll have to watch out for! Here’s a mayor I can trust! He looks like an honest pup and a handsome one at that so he wins my vote! Now I’ve gotta move to Collie-rado to see what he does for us doggies so I better start packing!
    -Love,
    Daisy the Coonhound

  22. Congrats to Spright!!For both winning the mayoral election AND finding a furrever home!

    Smileys!
    Dory

  23. You are so right. Everyone has to be very cautious when adopting a doggie!
    Spright sure is a pawesome mayor!
    Kisses and hugs
    Lorenza

  24. Spright sounds like a great choice for mayor of anything. It gives me some ideas about our governor race. We’ve had some trouble with our governors in recent years. A really bright, personable canine might be just what we need. Plus, the guv could be spayed or neutered which might be a good idea. Politics aside, I think Spright looks like she could be a relative of yours, Mayzie. It’s possible, right?

    We didn’t do the Blog Hop thing this Saturday because we knew we wouldn’t be able to be around much, but we hope to do it next time.

    Happy Mother’s day you and your Mom.

    wags, Lola

  25. Hey Mayzie, I just got a new foster dog and he only has three legs too! I wonder if he can become mayor of my town. But we already have a mayor and he might not like it too much if a dog takes his spot. Although I bet lots of people would like it better!

  26. oh you have a most fantastical mayor she is furry much full of the shpecial that spright!

    pibble wiggles
    the pittie pack

  27. That’s a really great idea! I KNOW we’d like Sprite as Mayor MUCH better than the one we have that everyone is fighting with! It’s was also a WONDERFUL idea to raise funds! I’ll have to tell my Sister’s rescue about it… even if it was only as Vice Mayor or something! Grammy from Corgi Country

Leave Me a Pawment!

