Ranger’s Reflections: Mayzie

Greetings! Alert readers of this column will notice that I have changed the title for today. The reason for this is that I would like to speak with you regarding the subject of my dear little sister’s upcoming…as she terms it…Gotcha Day.

I met Mayzie for the first time at her foster mother’s house. I thought she seemed nice enough, albeit a bit too forward. She insisted upon shadowing my every move, uttering things like, “Hi. Whatcha doing? I think you’re cute. I really like that spot on your head…does it come off? Whatcha sniffin’?” Occasionally I would say, “Please, miss, you’re crowding me a bit.” And she would just wag her tail and say, “Oh gosh, I’m most sorry! Hey! Have you sniffed over here? It smells GREAT!”

Quite honestly, I was relieved when we got in the truck and left. All mom and dad could talk about was how well we got along. I had no idea why this thrilled them so but I dismissed it and thought no more about it.

Until two weeks later, when they brought her home. My, what a surprise! They had been telling me that I was going to have a little sister. But (and I am quite embarrassed about this now), I had no idea the definition of that term. Having never had a sister before, for all I knew it meant, “someone who comes for a visit and then leaves.” And that’s exactly what I thought was going to happen.

So, being the proper host that I am, I did my best to make her feel at home. But the girl was, how shall I put this delicately?, backwards. She didn’t even know how to walk up and down stairs, for crying out loud poor dear. And it seemed odd to me that mom and dad were putting a lot of effort and time into someone who wasn’t going to be staying. Finally I decided to address this with dad and I asked him point-blank when she was leaving. Imagine my shock when I learned that “sister” meant that she was now a permanent part of our family!!!

This, of course, changed everything. I immediately set about establishing boundaries and rules. The first rule I established was what belonged to me. Which was, of course, everything. The couch, the bed, the toys (which I admit, I hadn’t played with in years), mom, dad…all of it was mine. I also established a 2 foot zone around me that was my own personal space and which she must not cross at any time or risk the consequences.

Mom and Dad soon explained to me that I did not, in fact, own everything. And that I must learn to “share.” As an only dog, this “sharing” concept was a difficult one but with my parents’ constant nagging gentle reminders, it is one that I have finally been able to grasp.

The break-through in our relationship came on the night this photo was taken. Mayzie had lived with us for approximately two months. We were in the backyard and well, I don’t know what came over me. She looked so sad and forlorn. Suddenly I could see how new and frightening all this must be to her. And I knew in my heart that I hadn’t helped ease her difficult transition into a real household. So, I took a deep breath and invited her to a rousing game of chase. When we got finished, we ran inside and jumped on the couch and my mother, with her ubiquitous camera, snapped the picture you see here.

After that, I decided that perhaps having a sister wasn’t so bad. She has actually taught me a lot about simply relaxing and enjoying the finer points of being a dog.

Like the art of tug (which, by the way, I always win)…

And that delightful bitey-face game…

For my part, I have made it a point as her big brother to lead by example. For instance, if we are in a situation she finds frightening, I try to show her that it truly isn’t so terrible and she seems to gain courage from that. I am proud of the progress she has made and I believe – in the most humble way, of course – that this is due in no small part to my guidance.

Of course, I still insist on my own personal space. She’s always asking if she can cuddle with me and I steadfastly refuse (ahem, well, on most occasions anyway). And if she tries to run over me during a game of chase, I can assure you that I give her a piece of my mind.

But, for the most part, I am finding that the word “sister” means more to me than I ever thought it could.

Oh, and if you ever breathe a word of this to her, I shall deny every bit of it.

This is Ranger…wishing you good-night and good biscuits.

19 Comments

Filed under Ranger's Rants

19 responses to “Ranger’s Reflections: Mayzie

  1. Mayzie girl, that was a wonderful story. I felts the same way when Ms. Betty came home. I still have moments of snarkiness when I’m expected to share my toys. But I’m workin’ on it.

    I promise not to tell your sister.

    Love, Gunther

  2. That’s a beautiful story. I’m so glad that you decided you like having a sister on balance. Mayzie certainly speaks highly of you.

  3. Lisa

    Awesome and very sweet story. Ranger, your secret is safe with me! Lisa

  4. Ranger, your secret is most safe with me! I felt a bit the same way when Jackson came to our house, but fortunately, that was just a visit! I try to be friends with Blueberry a lot, but she pretends she doesn’t like me, but I know deep down she can’t help herself!

    Bunny

  5. Hi Ranger…Madi here…all I can say if Mom and Dad told me I was getting a brudder…I would hope and pray he was your twin….what a nice gentleman you are. Mayzie was indeed to use her words “most’ lucky the day she came to live with you….we look forward to celebrating Mayzie gotcha day with you all. Mom and I loved the gotcha story too.
    Happy Sunday afternoon to you all,
    Madi and Mom

  6. Ranger, what a nice fella you are…wish my bruzzer Gussie was as kind and understanding about this adoption thing.

    kisses
    Teka Toy

  7. What a sweet brother you are after all! And a darn fine writer, too!

  8. What a heart-warming story, Ranger. I’m glad you and Mayzie have worked it out. I’m taking notes in case I ever get a sister! And don’t you worry, I won’t divulge your secret.

    xo
    Chef

  9. you really are a great brother, mr. ranger! miss mayzie is so lucky to have you. 🙂
    *woof*
    the booker man

  10. Hi Ranger, don’t worry we won’t breath a word to Mayzie! In fact I can empathise with the mixed blessing of having a sister.
    We enjoyed reading your story – change is hard for all of us.
    love
    Bailey xxxx

  11. Hi, Ranger!
    Thanks for sharing the story. I understand it was not easy for you when Mayzie came to live with you but sure things have changed sinde then, right?
    Nope. I will not tell her about your feelings!
    Kisses and hugs
    Lorenza

  12. Ranger
    I being an only kid can appreciate your hesitancy in having a “sibling”. However mom is tired of playing bitey face with me and chase , etc. I think Mayzie makes a pretty cool sis and I won’t say a word.. if you… ahem.. send me a cookie.
    norwood

  13. Fear not!

    Your sekhret is safe with us too –

    BUT a nice bribe would keep it safer!

    Hugz&Khysses,
    Khyra & Khousin Merdie

  14. Ranger! You are brilliant. I wish we’d met sooner. I just finally realized what my sissy means to me, but it didn’t just take me two months. It’s been a year. It took that crazy golf cart lady to make me realize it. Please, tell your mommy that we would love it if she wants to judge the lady.
    Twinkie

  15. Frankie Furter

    No Problem Ranger. Ya gotta admit that Mayzie IS a really cute girl. How could you resist that? Mum’s the word though. I’m just sayin’.

  16. Mango

    Your secret is safe with me. I admit that I was kind of lonely after my Beautiful Raja crossed over the rainbow bridge, but I was not altogether pleased to get a brother. I, like you, thought he would leave soon and when I found out he was staying I put up quite a fuss. But now I am used to the little guy. You are lucky that you have such a beautiful sissy.

    Slobbers,
    Mango

  17. Shady

    What can I say? Lovely!

  18. Miss Kylie

    Hey Ranger! It is nice to meet you!! I think your “sister” found my blog and well now I keep a close eye on yours! Sorry if I haven’t written to you sooner! You are very sweet and I hope some day I might get a little brother as cute as you!!

    Licks,
    Kylie

Leave Me a Pawment!

